Latest topics
» Help in making a errata/FAQ
Sat Jun 24, 2017 9:56 pm by wombatdazzler

» find Notes of Schermagliatori
Wed Jun 21, 2017 11:07 am by reneseeder

» Will the Army list be changed by Impetus 2
Tue Jun 20, 2017 11:14 am by dadiepiombo

» Opportunity Charge clarification
Tue Jun 20, 2017 11:11 am by dadiepiombo

» Different base size
Tue Jun 20, 2017 11:07 am by dadiepiombo

» Main unit and Support unit in second combat
Tue Jun 20, 2017 11:02 am by dadiepiombo

» Toughening Up CP
Thu Jun 15, 2017 10:46 pm by Cyrus The Adequate

» An Ancient Campaign using Sabin's Empire as a basis and Basic Impetus (augmented) to fight the battles
Thu Jun 15, 2017 5:53 pm by 1ngram

» Averaging cohesion tests
Thu Jun 15, 2017 1:05 pm by Cyrus The Adequate

Impetus at Derby?

Thu Apr 27, 2017 9:29 am by Cyrus The Adequate

Anyone interested ? 7th & 8th October at a new venue - Bruntingthorpe …

Comments: 10

Wintercon '17 July 15-16th

Sat May 06, 2017 11:44 pm by Tarty

Canberra July 15th-16th

Basic Impetus 2
28mm
Game days are Saturday and Sunday


Comments: 0

BI2 tournament - 25 March 2017

Thu Jan 26, 2017 10:08 am by RogerC

Would anyone be interested in a 28mm Basic Impetus 2 tournament on 25 March …

Comments: 24

28mm Impetus Competition York Sunday 5th February 2017

Mon Oct 03, 2016 8:44 am by Cyrus The Adequate

The traditional start to the Impetus Competition calendar in the UK is York in …

Comments: 80

1° BASIC IMPETUS tournament

Sat Dec 17, 2016 11:19 am by PAPERO

in Castegnato , near Brescia, Sunday, 08.01.2017 Cool

1st tournament BASIC …

Comments: 3

Cancon '17 Canberra, Aus

Mon Nov 07, 2016 2:15 am by Tarty

Cancon '17
Canberra, ACT

28mm  400pts
Friday 27th and Saturday 28th of …

Comments: 0

June 2017
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
   1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Calendar Calendar


Main unit and Support unit in second combat

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Main unit and Support unit in second combat

Post by jeztodd on Tue Mar 21, 2017 12:46 am

Hi All

Just wanted to check something ............ page 14 has the multiple melees diagram and am looking at the third diagram down. Clear match up of two main unit combats. The player decides to fight the P2 match up first and my question is if in the diagram the red unit P2 retreats is the white P2 unit able to act as a supporting unit in the next combat melee red P1 versus white P1.

I think in main impetus it is played as a fresh combat BUT in Basic Impetus 7.6.3 it is the phrase "However if you are fighting as the Main unit you cannot also be Support Unit or Main Unit in another melee"

Know always got confused with this point in Impetus .................

Cheers Jez
avatar
jeztodd
VBU 3
VBU 3

Posts : 164
Reputation : 3
Join date : 2014-05-19

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Main unit and Support unit in second combat

Post by RogerC on Tue Mar 21, 2017 12:11 pm

Unless Lorenzo says otherwise, I'd read 'you are fighting' as 'you are currently in contact' so a unit in contact as a main unit can't be counted as support in another melee. On the other hand, if the unit is no longer in contact as main unit, because that melee has already been resolved, then I think the unit can act as support in another melee. I'm distinguishing between 'are fighting' and 'have fought'.

Thus in the third diagram on page 14, if the P2 units fight their melee, and red P2 retreats, then white P2 is no longer fighting as a main unit, and can be a support in the P1 melee.

I know that is the same as 'full' Impetus, but the wording of BI2 7.6.3 seems to be saying the same thing as 'full' 7.7.3.

RogerC

RogerC
VBU 3
VBU 3

Posts : 138
Reputation : 3
Join date : 2014-05-20

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Main unit and Support unit in second combat

Post by dadiepiombo on Mon Mar 27, 2017 9:24 am

as Rogers says. All situations are temporary and can change during the process
avatar
dadiepiombo
Admin
Admin

Posts : 846
Reputation : 33
Join date : 2014-05-15

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Main unit and Support unit in second combat

Post by frazer on Tue Jun 06, 2017 12:44 pm

hi

just an add on to that scenario

if the P1 fight first and its a draw, then the P2 fight and as above Red P2 retreat, does this restart the P1 fight with White P2 as above being a support, even if they say roll a zero for any pursuit?

cheers

frazer
VBU 2
VBU 2

Posts : 74
Reputation : 3
Join date : 2014-05-19

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Main unit and Support unit in second combat

Post by RogerC on Wed Jun 07, 2017 5:44 pm

Good question, frazer. I don't think that the P1 melee restarts when red P2 retreats. Rule 7.6.7 says that a melee starts again if a new unit 'moves' to contact. Since white P2 is already in contact with red P1, it can't move when red P2 retreats, irrespective of its pursuit score. So the condition for restarting the melee doesn't seem to be met.

It might seem odd that if white P2 was just clear of red P1, any successful pursuit of red P2 would restart the P1 melee. However, if there was any clearance, the two melees would be distinct anyway.

RogerC

RogerC
VBU 3
VBU 3

Posts : 138
Reputation : 3
Join date : 2014-05-20

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Main unit and Support unit in second combat

Post by dadiepiombo on Tue Jun 20, 2017 11:02 am

if there is not movement then nothing triggers a new melee phase.
avatar
dadiepiombo
Admin
Admin

Posts : 846
Reputation : 33
Join date : 2014-05-15

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Main unit and Support unit in second combat

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum