Latest topics
» Help in making a errata/FAQ
Yesterday at 7:56 am by wombatdazzler

» find Notes of Schermagliatori
Tue Jun 27, 2017 3:51 pm by dadiepiombo

» Impetus at Derby?
Tue Jun 27, 2017 9:43 am by Cyrus The Adequate

» Will the Army list be changed by Impetus 2
Tue Jun 20, 2017 11:14 am by dadiepiombo

» Opportunity Charge clarification
Tue Jun 20, 2017 11:11 am by dadiepiombo

» Different base size
Tue Jun 20, 2017 11:07 am by dadiepiombo

» Main unit and Support unit in second combat
Tue Jun 20, 2017 11:02 am by dadiepiombo

» Toughening Up CP
Thu Jun 15, 2017 10:46 pm by Cyrus The Adequate

» An Ancient Campaign using Sabin's Empire as a basis and Basic Impetus (augmented) to fight the battles
Thu Jun 15, 2017 5:53 pm by 1ngram

Impetus at Derby?

Thu Apr 27, 2017 9:29 am by Cyrus The Adequate

Anyone interested ? 7th & 8th October at a new venue - Bruntingthorpe …

Comments: 11

Wintercon '17 July 15-16th

Sat May 06, 2017 11:44 pm by Tarty

Canberra July 15th-16th

Basic Impetus 2
28mm
Game days are Saturday and Sunday


Comments: 0

BI2 tournament - 25 March 2017

Thu Jan 26, 2017 10:08 am by RogerC

Would anyone be interested in a 28mm Basic Impetus 2 tournament on 25 March …

Comments: 24

28mm Impetus Competition York Sunday 5th February 2017

Mon Oct 03, 2016 8:44 am by Cyrus The Adequate

The traditional start to the Impetus Competition calendar in the UK is York in …

Comments: 80

1° BASIC IMPETUS tournament

Sat Dec 17, 2016 11:19 am by PAPERO

in Castegnato , near Brescia, Sunday, 08.01.2017 Cool

1st tournament BASIC …

Comments: 3

Cancon '17 Canberra, Aus

Mon Nov 07, 2016 2:15 am by Tarty

Cancon '17
Canberra, ACT

28mm  400pts
Friday 27th and Saturday 28th of …

Comments: 0

June 2017
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
   1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Calendar Calendar


Opportunity Charge clarification

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Opportunity Charge clarification

Post by killerkatanas on Wed May 31, 2017 9:24 pm

Hello all,

Have a question regarding an opportunity charge with regards to being shot at. Here is the situation:


AAAAAAAA
BBBBBBBB


CCCCCCCC

Phasing side, unit A (Janissary infantry), shoots at unit C (Dragoon cavalry). Non-phasing player, unit C, cannot make an opportunity charge against A because the charge must be straight ahead and this would make it collide with unit B (a Sipahi Cavalry unit of the phasing side).

Is this a correct understanding of the rule?

killerkatanas
VBU 2
VBU 2

Posts : 2
Reputation : 0
Join date : 2017-05-18

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Opportunity Charge clarification

Post by Zippee on Thu Jun 01, 2017 11:59 am

Hi,
you did the right thing but I'm unclear if you did it for the right reason

Rules wrote: If the opportunity Charge is a reaction to enemy fire, the Charge is executed after the resolution of the fire.
Opportunity Charge is in all effects a Charge and is subject to the same limitations

There is no limitation on charges contacting other units.

In fact if you check the rules for counter-charges you find it mentioned explicitly:

Rules wrote: ...provided that the movement of the counter-charging Unit is not stopped by the impact with other enemy Units (in this case the charging Unit will complete its movement and a multiple melee will occur).

So I see no reason why an opportunity charge could not react to the shooting and charge, only to collide with another unit. However in this instance the reacting unit are DR which are actually Foot Troops and as such cannot charge Mounted Troops.

Rules wrote: However Foot is not permitted to Opportunity Charge Mounted troops.

That may be what you meant but it read as if you thought you could not opportunity charge because by moving straight forward you would contact a different unit.

I see the situation described as being perfectly in tune with combined tactics - the SP unit pins the DR in place, allowing the janissaries to shoot them up. That's just good play in my book Smile
avatar
Zippee
VBU 5
VBU 5

Posts : 539
Reputation : 6
Join date : 2014-05-19
Age : 54
Location : London, UK

View user profile https://www.flickr.com/photos/zippee/sets/

Back to top Go down

Re: Opportunity Charge clarification

Post by killerkatanas on Fri Jun 02, 2017 6:04 am

Unfortunately the example dd not line up right. Let me see if I can get it right.

It should be:
AAAAAAAA
-----------BBBBBBBB

CCCCCCCC

So unit A has a little of its unit behind unit B, so if C wished to opportunity charge unit A, as a result of being fired upon by them, then it must proceed straight ahead, correct? That means no deviation, no moving at an angle, ect., may be done by unit C, correct?

If this is the case, then unit C will contact B, and since it cannot contact A (the unit that fired on it), an opportunity charge by C may not be done.

Is this understanding correct?

killerkatanas
VBU 2
VBU 2

Posts : 2
Reputation : 0
Join date : 2017-05-18

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Opportunity Charge clarification

Post by dadiepiombo on Tue Jun 20, 2017 11:11 am

you can charge by opportunity. I have not the English book in my hands at the moment, but you can find this at par. 4.1.3
avatar
dadiepiombo
Admin
Admin

Posts : 848
Reputation : 33
Join date : 2014-05-15

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Opportunity Charge clarification

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum