Latest topics
» Toughening Up CP Reprise
Today at 2:24 am by Gaius Cassius

» Terrain Table A or B?
Yesterday at 9:14 am by Aurelius

» Nine Years War
Wed Nov 22, 2017 6:52 pm by dadiepiombo

» Vapnartak York Feb 2018- format options?
Tue Nov 21, 2017 5:22 pm by Brighouse

» Line Relief and Triarii
Mon Nov 20, 2017 10:15 pm by Jim Webster

» Basic Impetus 2 Comp, January 2018?
Sun Nov 19, 2017 10:05 pm by Aurelius

» An Ancient Campaign using Sabin's Empire as a basis and Basic Impetus (augmented) to fight the battles
Fri Nov 10, 2017 12:20 pm by 1ngram

» Some more questions
Tue Nov 07, 2017 6:49 pm by dadiepiombo

» Baroque - ECW Game
Mon Nov 06, 2017 5:15 pm by GamesPoet

Vapnartak York Feb 2018- format options?

Wed Oct 18, 2017 8:26 am by Cyrus The Adequate

Hi everyone

I was pondering the options for the York competition and wondered …

Comments: 8

Basic Impetus 2 Comp, January 2018?

Mon Oct 30, 2017 10:03 am by Aurelius

Would anyone be interested in a 28mm Basic Impetus 2 tournament, Saturday …

Comments: 11

Impetus Competition Derby Worlds 2017

Sun Jul 02, 2017 4:42 pm by Cyrus The Adequate

There will be a 28mm Impetus Competition at Derby World Wargames on 7th …

Comments: 47

Impetus at Derby?

Thu Apr 27, 2017 9:29 am by Cyrus The Adequate

Anyone interested ? 7th & 8th October at a new venue - Bruntingthorpe …

Comments: 11

Wintercon '17 July 15-16th

Sat May 06, 2017 11:44 pm by Tarty

Canberra July 15th-16th

Basic Impetus 2
Game days are Saturday and Sunday

Comments: 0

BI2 tournament - 25 March 2017

Thu Jan 26, 2017 10:08 am by RogerC

Would anyone be interested in a 28mm Basic Impetus 2 tournament on 25 March …

Comments: 24

November 2017

Calendar Calendar

Sevral questions on rules (advanced impetus)

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Sevral questions on rules (advanced impetus)

Post by Tombeapix on Mon Jul 03, 2017 9:13 am


Playing with friends (mostly XVth century), we had several questions about the rules. Reading the "advanced impetus" document, we had even more !
(We play with a french rulebook, so I hope my translations will be the right ones...)

1°) About stakes : the rules stand that mouted troops charging stakes are disordered and suffer -1 dice in melee, and cancel impetus bonus. Does it mean that a VBU 8 CP charging longbowmen behind stakes will fight with 6 dice ? (8 - 1 because of Disorder - 1 of stakes) Or is the "-1 dice" written in the rules only a reminder of the consequence of Disorder ?

2°) Shieldwall : The advanced Impetus rule stands that it is possible to form automatically a shieldwall as a reaction, "like evasion". But the same document stands later that evasion, if the unit is not on opportunity, needs a discipline test... So is the shieldwall automatic or does it need a discipline test ?

3°) Is it possible for a unit to fire twice a turn ? For example : english longbowmen (longbow A) face units of french knights. The English player has initiative and fires with his units. Then the french knights play and charge a unit of the English army. The charge accidentally brings them in the ZoC of the english longbowmen. Can the English fire a second time this turn as opportunity fire (and at 5U with longbow A against mounted troops just before the melee...) ?

4°) Wheel : is it possible to wheel and advance in the same movement phase, taking in account the distance needed for the wheel (in the same way as for the "free" wheel of impetuous troops) ? Or do I need two movement phases to wheel a unit and then advance in the new orientation ?
-> In case of a charge : can wheel and charge in the same movement phase, or do I need two movements, risking to disorder my unit when arriving in contact ?

5°) Long spear : Does a unit armed with long spears also cancel Impetus bonus from CP units that charge on flank or rear ? Or only against frontal charge ?

6°) Missed charge : I want one of my CP unit to charge. I take the movement bonus... and the charge is to short ! How far does my unit go ? 8 + 1D6 U or only the D6 U ?

7°) Bagages : the advanced Impetus rules stands that it is possible to deploy bagages within 12U of the side edge. It also stands that I can deploy a Large Unit or up to 3 Units in front of my bagages, even exceeding the deployment area. So is it possible to deploy this Large Unit or these 3 Units within 12U of the side edge ?

8°) Advanced deployment B (Advanced Impetus) : do all mounted Units have to belong to the same Command ? Or can they be from several different commands ?

9°) End of a turn : The rules stands that the rout of a Command or of the army is determined at the end of a turn. I have several Commands in my army. One of them routs at the end of the turn, bringing my VDT under 50%. Does the whole army rout now ? Or at the end of the next turn, rwhen I will determine again if my amy routs ?

Thanks a lot !


Posts : 3
Reputation : 0
Join date : 2016-01-06

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Sevral questions on rules (advanced impetus)

Post by Gaius Cassius on Wed Jul 05, 2017 2:30 am

1. 3.6.2 can be read either way. Good question. My suspicion based on how Impetus is written is that the CP end up with 6 dice.

2. Shieldwall is automatic.

3. The simple answer is yes, one fire in the units activation and any number of reaction fires as long as the firing unit is in good order. Remember the advancing unit must be moving through the firing unit’s ZOC in a manner that will not cause it to contact the firing unit to qualify for reaction fire. A unit on opportunity can not fire twice in one turn (unless there is a reaction response). So if the firing unit shoots while on opportunity it is marked as fired even if its command should activate later in the turn.

4. Two movement phases.

5. Long spear cancels impetus for mounted units no matter what flank it is contact on.

6. 8 + 1D6

7. No

9. You determine the command and army morale at the end of the turn.
Gaius Cassius
VBU 7 h.c.
VBU 7 h.c.

Posts : 774
Reputation : 15
Join date : 2014-05-20
Location : Guelph, Ontario, Canada

View user profile

Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum