Latest topics
» Why can Longbows Fire at Point Blank Range & Not Others?
Yesterday at 5:49 pm by Zippee

» "Long Spear" if not in a large unit
Yesterday at 3:35 pm by Eques

» What are the main Changes between Impetus & Baroque?
Yesterday at 3:29 pm by Zippee

» Looking for Players in the Midlands (UK)
Yesterday at 2:53 pm by Eques

» Improving Pilum?
Tue Dec 12, 2017 5:03 am by Tarty

» Help in making a errata/FAQ
Mon Dec 11, 2017 9:07 pm by prapor

» Dragons de Vaires 2017
Sun Dec 10, 2017 7:41 pm by Bobo

» What are the Benefits of being in a Group?
Fri Dec 08, 2017 4:25 pm by Tankred

» BI2-Samurai 'Big Battle'
Fri Dec 08, 2017 3:36 pm by Tankred

Vapnartak York Feb 2018- format options?

Wed Oct 18, 2017 8:26 am by Cyrus The Adequate

Hi everyone

I was pondering the options for the York competition and wondered …

Comments: 11

Basic Impetus 2 Comp, January 2018?

Mon Oct 30, 2017 10:03 am by Aurelius

Would anyone be interested in a 28mm Basic Impetus 2 tournament, Saturday …

Comments: 15

Impetus Competition Derby Worlds 2017

Sun Jul 02, 2017 4:42 pm by Cyrus The Adequate

There will be a 28mm Impetus Competition at Derby World Wargames on 7th …

Comments: 47

Impetus at Derby?

Thu Apr 27, 2017 9:29 am by Cyrus The Adequate

Anyone interested ? 7th & 8th October at a new venue - Bruntingthorpe …

Comments: 11

Wintercon '17 July 15-16th

Sat May 06, 2017 11:44 pm by Tarty

Canberra July 15th-16th

Basic Impetus 2
28mm
Game days are Saturday and Sunday


Comments: 0

BI2 tournament - 25 March 2017

Thu Jan 26, 2017 10:08 am by RogerC

Would anyone be interested in a 28mm Basic Impetus 2 tournament on 25 March …

Comments: 24

December 2017
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
    123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Calendar Calendar


Interpenetration

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Interpenetration

Post by accard on Thu Nov 13, 2014 1:44 pm

Another circumstance which came up last night.

I had a command containing T archers and CP cavalry.
At the start of the turn the archers were immediately behind the cavalry.
With the tournament interpenetration rules I advanced the archers through the cavalry, did my firing, then charged the cavalry through into my opponents dismayed forces.

I think its legal, but just checking.

accard
VBU 2
VBU 2

Posts : 78
Reputation : 0
Join date : 2014-09-09

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Interpenetration

Post by RogerC on Thu Nov 13, 2014 3:21 pm

Have the T enough movement allowance to clear the CP (maybe they need to make a double move?). If they have, then what you did sounds legal. They don't displace the CP so the T can't make the move unless they move far enough that they no longer overlap.

After that, the CP can be activated as normal, so if you want them to charge they can do so.

RogerC

RogerC
VBU 3
VBU 3

Posts : 153
Reputation : 3
Join date : 2014-05-20

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Interpenetration

Post by accard on Thu Nov 13, 2014 3:36 pm

The archers started front edge to rear edge with the cavalry. One move would have not cleared the cavalry -it would have required two movements to do so.

So in this case could I have made a double move and rolled for discipline?

I am a little unclear about the phrase in the rules -"If interpenetration cannot be completed for some reason the Unit that attempted interpenetration stops just before contact". As I started in contact I assumed I could go through - but I dont know what reasons count for stopping interpenetration.

accard
VBU 2
VBU 2

Posts : 78
Reputation : 0
Join date : 2014-09-09

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Interpenetration

Post by RogerC on Thu Nov 13, 2014 4:04 pm

Interpenetration is a bit complicated because it depends on the unit doing the interpenetrating and on the unit being interpenetrated.

In the case we're talking about, the T cannot displace the CP. So if they cannot clear them, they cannot make the interpenetration. They can't end up sitting on the CP and can't move more than their movement allowance in a single movement phase. That is true even if they start in contact with the rear of the CP. So they'd need a double move, with a consequent risk of disorder. If they couldn't make the double move (e.g because they're disordered already) they can't make the interpenetration.

It would be different if you replaced the CP with another T, because one T displaces another. So if one T moved to overlap, the overlapped T would be displaced backwards. If the displaced T hadn't been activated, it could subsequently move (and maybe displace the first T). You see this all the time with CL.

RogerC

RogerC
VBU 3
VBU 3

Posts : 153
Reputation : 3
Join date : 2014-05-20

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Interpenetration

Post by Zippee on Thu Nov 13, 2014 6:25 pm

You're far better doing this with CL and CP, or CL and CM or CL and CL - the whole rolling CL trick is standard fare for such armies.

The T would be taking -2 on shooting, possibly -3 if disordered hardly worth the effort. . .

If you must use infantry, have the T at the front from the get go (assuming the CP aren't impetuous) that way they protect the CP's VBU and IMP
avatar
Zippee
VBU 5
VBU 5

Posts : 555
Reputation : 6
Join date : 2014-05-19
Age : 54
Location : London, UK

View user profile https://www.flickr.com/photos/zippee/sets/

Back to top Go down

Re: Interpenetration

Post by Biggles Flies Undone on Thu Nov 20, 2014 11:32 am

So what would happens in an Involuntary Interpenetration to the rear, for example if a unit of FL (call them FLa) losses a melee and breaks off but another FL unit is behind (FLb)
does FLa stop when it contacts FLb,
FLa passes pushes FLb back when they contact.
or something else?
Thanks Malcolm

Biggles Flies Undone
VBU 2
VBU 2

Posts : 2
Reputation : 0
Join date : 2014-10-28

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Interpenetration

Post by Gaius Cassius on Thu Nov 20, 2014 12:59 pm

FLa passes through FLb.
avatar
Gaius Cassius
VBU 7 h.c.
VBU 7 h.c.

Posts : 780
Reputation : 15
Join date : 2014-05-20
Location : Guelph, Ontario, Canada

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Interpenetration

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top


 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum