Latest topics
» A few questions on Groups
Today at 12:22 am by stecal

» Vapnartak York Feb 2018- format options?
Wed Oct 18, 2017 9:30 am by Cyrus The Adequate

» Help in making a errata/FAQ
Wed Oct 18, 2017 6:43 am by bunwin63

» Impetus bonus use by Inactive player unit.
Wed Oct 18, 2017 6:41 am by bunwin63

» Measuring sticks
Sun Oct 15, 2017 6:29 pm by kreoseus

» Q. Blocked Retreat After Combat
Sun Oct 15, 2017 2:28 pm by RogerC

» Army Lists for Issus and other battles
Sun Oct 15, 2017 7:21 am by Frostie

» Charge extension doubt
Sat Oct 14, 2017 2:55 pm by jorneto

» Game of Thrones
Sat Oct 14, 2017 11:16 am by Frostie

Vapnartak York Feb 2018- format options?

Wed Oct 18, 2017 8:26 am by Cyrus The Adequate

Hi everyone

I was pondering the options for the York competition and wondered …

Comments: 2

Impetus Competition Derby Worlds 2017

Sun Jul 02, 2017 4:42 pm by Cyrus The Adequate

There will be a 28mm Impetus Competition at Derby World Wargames on 7th …

Comments: 42

Impetus at Derby?

Thu Apr 27, 2017 9:29 am by Cyrus The Adequate

Anyone interested ? 7th & 8th October at a new venue - Bruntingthorpe …

Comments: 11

Wintercon '17 July 15-16th

Sat May 06, 2017 11:44 pm by Tarty

Canberra July 15th-16th

Basic Impetus 2
28mm
Game days are Saturday and Sunday


Comments: 0

BI2 tournament - 25 March 2017

Thu Jan 26, 2017 10:08 am by RogerC

Would anyone be interested in a 28mm Basic Impetus 2 tournament on 25 March …

Comments: 24

28mm Impetus Competition York Sunday 5th February 2017

Mon Oct 03, 2016 8:44 am by Cyrus The Adequate

The traditional start to the Impetus Competition calendar in the UK is York in …

Comments: 80

October 2017
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
      1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031     

Calendar Calendar


Newby Questions

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Newby Questions

Post by Hannibal Barca on Sun Nov 16, 2014 3:07 am

Hello all

I'm relatively new to Impetus having played a handful of games both against fellow newbies to the system and solo games. I quite like the rules system and am trying to promote the system to my gaming group as our default ancients rules.

Anyway here are a handful of questions I have come across, I apologise to all the vets out there who have seen and answered these questions in the past.

1) When CL & S units move obliquely or to the rear (not evading) does their new facing become the direction of travel or do they maintain their original facing?

2) Can a pursuit trigger an Opp Charge or Counter Charge?

3) Following from Q2 can a pursuing unit contact a new unit starting another new Melee with this unit, and not the original pursued unit? does this new melee take place immediately?

4) An Elephant unit charges through a unit of skirmishers (taking fire on the way through) and hits a unit of troops screened behind the S, which are in direct base contact with the S. what happens to the S units do they get repositioned behind the EL, stay where they are but the melee is between the El and charged troops or do the S unit fall back behind charged unit?

5) The Shieldwall additional rule states some FP can create a shield wall as a reaction to a charge or shooting. how do you know if a unit is eligible to form a shield wall?

Thanks every one, I'm sure I'll have more quires scratch

Ron

Hannibal Barca
VBU 2
VBU 2

Posts : 6
Reputation : 0
Join date : 2014-11-16

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Newby Questions

Post by Zippee on Sun Nov 16, 2014 9:21 am

Welcome Ron,
You're preaching to the choir - you'll find we're all big fans Very Happy

1) Oblique moves always must strictly maintain facing. Moving to the rear in this way does not include a 180* turn.

2) Yes - either by ZOC violation or by being on Opportunity.

3) Yes. Yes.

4) Elephants must fight the skirmishers as per 7.8.1

5) All such "special rules" are indicated in the army lists. This also includes specifics of weapons (long spear shortbow A, etc.) as well as large unit, impetuosity, schiltron, pilum, etc. Occasionally you find a troop type has a wholly unique ability, such as Late Roman FL being able to cancel enemy foot impetus.

Hope that helps
[hope they are correct Rolling Eyes  Very Happy ]
avatar
Zippee
VBU 5
VBU 5

Posts : 545
Reputation : 6
Join date : 2014-05-19
Age : 54
Location : London, UK

View user profile https://www.flickr.com/photos/zippee/sets/

Back to top Go down

Re: Newby Questions

Post by Hannibal Barca on Sun Nov 16, 2014 9:37 am

Thanks Zippie

I figured you would be the person to respond, With my elephant Q I was under the impression that the EL charges through the S screen. but having re read the rule only scythed chariots charge through the S screen.

Thanks again

Ron

Hannibal Barca
VBU 2
VBU 2

Posts : 6
Reputation : 0
Join date : 2014-11-16

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Newby Questions

Post by Zippee on Sun Nov 16, 2014 9:55 am

Hannibal Barca wrote:With my elephant Q I was under the impression that the EL charges through the S screen. but having re read the rule only scythed chariots charge through the S screen.

Yeah bit sneaky that - 7.8 leaves you thinking EL and CF are the exception so are the same and covered by 7.8.1 but that treats them individually. For clarity there should be 7.8.1 (CF) and 7.8.2 (EL)
avatar
Zippee
VBU 5
VBU 5

Posts : 545
Reputation : 6
Join date : 2014-05-19
Age : 54
Location : London, UK

View user profile https://www.flickr.com/photos/zippee/sets/

Back to top Go down

Re: Newby Questions

Post by RogerC on Sun Nov 16, 2014 5:00 pm

I think the answer to question 2 is no for both situations.

Lorenzo has confirmed many times that there is no reaction to a reaction. The latest thread on this was http://impetus.ativiforum.com/t199-opportunity-charges-on-pursuers

So nothing can be done in response to a pursuit - no opportunity or ZOC violation action, no evades. It keeps things simple.

Otherwise, Zippee is right. I must admit I'd forgotten the special rules about elephants/chariots and skirmishers.

RogerC

RogerC
VBU 3
VBU 3

Posts : 145
Reputation : 3
Join date : 2014-05-20

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Newby Questions

Post by Zippee on Sun Nov 16, 2014 10:13 pm

Eek
yep, that should be no and no
thanks RC
avatar
Zippee
VBU 5
VBU 5

Posts : 545
Reputation : 6
Join date : 2014-05-19
Age : 54
Location : London, UK

View user profile https://www.flickr.com/photos/zippee/sets/

Back to top Go down

Re: Newby Questions

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum