Latest topics
» Vapnartak. Sunday 4th February 2018 Knavesmere Stand York Racecourse
Yesterday at 7:46 am by Brighouse

» Impetus videos
Sun Jan 14, 2018 3:26 pm by Taffekles

» Basic Impetus 2 Comp, January 2018?
Fri Jan 12, 2018 1:21 pm by Taffekles

» Lords&Sevants 2nd edition
Wed Jan 10, 2018 4:01 pm by dadiepiombo

» Ace in the Hole: Aggressive deployment
Tue Jan 09, 2018 3:26 am by Zennor

» Measuring sticks
Mon Jan 08, 2018 5:48 pm by dadiepiombo

» Various weapons - are we doing it right?
Thu Jan 04, 2018 10:21 am by dadiepiombo

» Anglo Dutch list released
Wed Jan 03, 2018 12:52 pm by AndyT

» Scots Covenanters
Wed Jan 03, 2018 4:55 am by paulbgau

Vapnartak. Sunday 4th February 2018 Knavesmere Stand York Racecourse

Thu Jan 04, 2018 7:54 am by Cyrus The Adequate

Hi Gents

York is the usual first event in the UK Impetus calendar. This year …

Comments: 9

Basic Impetus 2 Comp, January 2018?

Mon Oct 30, 2017 10:03 am by Aurelius

I've brought the confirmed details for the Basic Impetus competition to the …

Comments: 32

Vapnartak York Feb 2018- format options?

Wed Oct 18, 2017 8:26 am by Cyrus The Adequate

Hi everyone

I was pondering the options for the York competition and wondered …

Comments: 11

Impetus Competition Derby Worlds 2017

Sun Jul 02, 2017 4:42 pm by Cyrus The Adequate

There will be a 28mm Impetus Competition at Derby World Wargames on 7th …

Comments: 47

Impetus at Derby?

Thu Apr 27, 2017 9:29 am by Cyrus The Adequate

Anyone interested ? 7th & 8th October at a new venue - Bruntingthorpe …

Comments: 11

Wintercon '17 July 15-16th

Sat May 06, 2017 11:44 pm by Tarty

Canberra July 15th-16th

Basic Impetus 2
28mm
Game days are Saturday and Sunday


Comments: 0

January 2018
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031    

Calendar Calendar


Two qickies

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Two qickies

Post by Geoffrm on Thu Nov 27, 2014 12:48 am

Hi,
Two questions.
In the Swiss list it says that Halbards cancel the impetus bonus of mounted. Does this apply to the Halbard in other lists?
If you charge and contact only with your front corner do you stay in that position and does your opponent get an overlap if he is part of a line?

Regards Geoff

Geoffrm
VBU 2
VBU 2

Posts : 51
Reputation : 0
Join date : 2014-09-20

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Two qickies

Post by Gaius Cassius on Thu Nov 27, 2014 3:33 am

Geoffrm wrote:
In the Swiss list it says that Halbards cancel the impetus bonus of mounted.  Does this apply to the Halbard in other lists?

Only if the list says so otherwise no.


Geoffrm wrote:Hi,
If you charge and contact only with your front corner do you stay in that position and does your opponent get an overlap if he is part of a line?
Regards Geoff

Not sure what you are describing but it all depends on whether the units are in contact. If there is contact there is an overlap.
avatar
Gaius Cassius
VBU 7 h.c.
VBU 7 h.c.

Posts : 788
Reputation : 15
Join date : 2014-05-20
Location : Guelph, Ontario, Canada

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Two qickies

Post by dadiepiombo on Thu Nov 27, 2014 8:59 am

for the second question (if I have visualized correctly)
You have a melee only with the Unit you are in contact.
avatar
dadiepiombo
Admin
Admin

Posts : 891
Reputation : 33
Join date : 2014-05-15

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Two qickies

Post by Geoffrm on Fri Nov 28, 2014 1:14 am

In the melee a unit of knights charged the centre unit of a three unit line and contacted the centre unit with its front corner. We fought it as a single unit melee. In the rules page 40 7.73 point 2 it says if frontal contact "at an angle" then you consider the projection of the front, caculated perpendicularly to the Enemy Units front.

Geoffrm
VBU 2
VBU 2

Posts : 51
Reputation : 0
Join date : 2014-09-20

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Two qickies

Post by Gaius Cassius on Fri Nov 28, 2014 1:19 am

Sounds like you did it correctly.
avatar
Gaius Cassius
VBU 7 h.c.
VBU 7 h.c.

Posts : 788
Reputation : 15
Join date : 2014-05-20
Location : Guelph, Ontario, Canada

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Two qickies

Post by Geoffrm on Fri Nov 28, 2014 3:43 am

Are you sure? The rules indicate you project the front forward so that you can work out which is the Main unit and which is the Supporting unit.

Geoffrm
VBU 2
VBU 2

Posts : 51
Reputation : 0
Join date : 2014-09-20

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Two qickies

Post by RogerC on Fri Nov 28, 2014 1:47 pm

As Lorenzo says, only units in contact can melee. Overlaps which do not make contact have no effect on the melee. There is no 'overlap bonus'.

The rules about projecting the front are for determining which one of multiple units in contact is the main unit. You need to know that as supporting units halve their dice, and only the main unit takes casualties.

RogerC

RogerC
VBU 3
VBU 3

Posts : 157
Reputation : 3
Join date : 2014-05-20

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Two qickies

Post by Gaius Cassius on Fri Nov 28, 2014 2:09 pm

A picture would help but as RogerC says projection is used only to determine main and support units. Without contact projecting the front of unit doesn't matter in Impetus.
avatar
Gaius Cassius
VBU 7 h.c.
VBU 7 h.c.

Posts : 788
Reputation : 15
Join date : 2014-05-20
Location : Guelph, Ontario, Canada

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Two qickies

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top


 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum