Latest topics
» Some questions
Today at 9:19 am by Silverpaint68

» Basic Battles expansion
Yesterday at 7:18 pm by stecal

» any players in the northwest ?
Yesterday at 2:56 pm by Jim Webster

» Basic Impetus v Impetus?
Yesterday at 11:28 am by stecal

» Impetus Competition Derby Worlds 2017
Wed Aug 16, 2017 4:31 pm by slowjoecrow

» First 3 games with Ptolemaics
Fri Aug 11, 2017 5:29 pm by Jim Webster

» Great Italian Wars by Sowabud
Sun Aug 06, 2017 6:26 am by Jim Webster

» Pilum, PBW and Impetus
Wed Aug 02, 2017 11:59 am by grenadiergrandson

» Help in making a errata/FAQ
Tue Aug 01, 2017 12:44 am by Tarty

Impetus Competition Derby Worlds 2017

Sun Jul 02, 2017 4:42 pm by Cyrus The Adequate

There will be a 28mm Impetus Competition at Derby World Wargames on 7th …

Comments: 6

Impetus at Derby?

Thu Apr 27, 2017 9:29 am by Cyrus The Adequate

Anyone interested ? 7th & 8th October at a new venue - Bruntingthorpe …

Comments: 11

Wintercon '17 July 15-16th

Sat May 06, 2017 11:44 pm by Tarty

Canberra July 15th-16th

Basic Impetus 2
28mm
Game days are Saturday and Sunday


Comments: 0

BI2 tournament - 25 March 2017

Thu Jan 26, 2017 10:08 am by RogerC

Would anyone be interested in a 28mm Basic Impetus 2 tournament on 25 March …

Comments: 24

28mm Impetus Competition York Sunday 5th February 2017

Mon Oct 03, 2016 8:44 am by Cyrus The Adequate

The traditional start to the Impetus Competition calendar in the UK is York in …

Comments: 80

1° BASIC IMPETUS tournament

Sat Dec 17, 2016 11:19 am by PAPERO

in Castegnato , near Brescia, Sunday, 08.01.2017 Cool

1st tournament BASIC …

Comments: 3

August 2017
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031   

Calendar Calendar


leader casualties

View previous topic View next topic Go down

leader casualties

Post by archibald the grim on Tue Dec 16, 2014 8:32 pm

Evening all.
After some difficulty signing in over the last few months Lord Archibald has become Archibald the Grim!

I was having a wee skirmish the other night and my large Scottish schiltrom with a Charismatic leader (+4) was being annoyed a little by some English handgunners. The schiltrom expected no difficulty but the handgunners scored a hit causing a Cohesion Test.
Disaster occurred: natural roll of 6, so a loss of 1 VBU. Roll for commander as per 8.2. The +4 for his rating suddenly was a liability, a roll which would see him safe had he no bonus meant he was captured and his command routed.

Is this intentional, does the +4 translate into a leader who is at the thick of the fighting?

Many thanks,

Mark
avatar
archibald the grim
VBU 2
VBU 2

Posts : 8
Reputation : 0
Join date : 2014-12-16
Location : N Ireland

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: leader casualties

Post by dadiepiombo on Tue Dec 16, 2014 9:44 pm

well, let's see if you have done correctly.

You roll a 6 on CT. Ok it happens.
Now you have to roll on the casualty table.
The general is Charismatic this means that you can re-roll 1 or both dice. So if you roll high you have chances to repeat.

Also if you play with 300pts (where you usually use one single command or maximum 2) the +4 modifier is not counted.

Also if you have CiC on foot I suggest to reserve at least 1 Destiny roll for this purpose.
avatar
dadiepiombo
Admin
Admin

Posts : 851
Reputation : 33
Join date : 2014-05-15

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: leader casualties

Post by archibald the grim on Wed Dec 17, 2014 7:28 am

Thanks. It was just a little skirmish to check my understanding of the rules so I wasn't bothering with the Destiny re-roll.
I hadn't realised a charismatic general can re-roll or that the +4 didn't count with 300 point armies. Thanks for pointing that out!

Mark
avatar
archibald the grim
VBU 2
VBU 2

Posts : 8
Reputation : 0
Join date : 2014-12-16
Location : N Ireland

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: leader casualties

Post by dadiepiombo on Wed Dec 17, 2014 8:28 am

you can get this latter rule on Advanced Impetus.
http://www.dadiepiombo.it/images/stories/dp/advancedeng2014.pdf
avatar
dadiepiombo
Admin
Admin

Posts : 851
Reputation : 33
Join date : 2014-05-15

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: leader casualties

Post by Zippee on Wed Dec 17, 2014 6:13 pm

archibald the grim wrote:Evening all.
The +4 for his rating suddenly was a liability,   a roll which would see him safe had he no bonus meant he was captured and his command routed.

Is this intentional, does the +4 translate into a leader who is at the thick of the fighting?

Yep, charismatic leaders lead from the front a la Alexander - so the same trait that makes them useful also places them at risk. You can't skulk in the back if you want to be a hero.
avatar
Zippee
VBU 5
VBU 5

Posts : 540
Reputation : 6
Join date : 2014-05-19
Age : 54
Location : London, UK

View user profile https://www.flickr.com/photos/zippee/sets/

Back to top Go down

Re: leader casualties

Post by archibald the grim on Wed Dec 17, 2014 10:01 pm

Ok, thanks. I understand now. My leaders may turn from Robert Bruce into Bobbing John Mar...
avatar
archibald the grim
VBU 2
VBU 2

Posts : 8
Reputation : 0
Join date : 2014-12-16
Location : N Ireland

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: leader casualties

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum