Latest topics
» Game of Thrones
Today at 9:12 am by Silverpaint68

» Impetus Competition Derby Worlds 2017
Yesterday at 7:45 pm by slowjoecrow

» Vapnartak York Feb 2018- format options?
Yesterday at 7:40 pm by slowjoecrow

» A few questions on Groups
Fri Oct 20, 2017 1:29 pm by Zippee

» Help in making a errata/FAQ
Wed Oct 18, 2017 6:43 am by bunwin63

» Impetus bonus use by Inactive player unit.
Wed Oct 18, 2017 6:41 am by bunwin63

» Measuring sticks
Sun Oct 15, 2017 6:29 pm by kreoseus

» Q. Blocked Retreat After Combat
Sun Oct 15, 2017 2:28 pm by RogerC

» Army Lists for Issus and other battles
Sun Oct 15, 2017 7:21 am by Frostie

Impetus Competition Derby Worlds 2017

Sun Jul 02, 2017 4:42 pm by Cyrus The Adequate

There will be a 28mm Impetus Competition at Derby World Wargames on 7th …

Comments: 43

Vapnartak York Feb 2018- format options?

Wed Oct 18, 2017 8:26 am by Cyrus The Adequate

Hi everyone

I was pondering the options for the York competition and wondered …

Comments: 4

Impetus at Derby?

Thu Apr 27, 2017 9:29 am by Cyrus The Adequate

Anyone interested ? 7th & 8th October at a new venue - Bruntingthorpe …

Comments: 11

Wintercon '17 July 15-16th

Sat May 06, 2017 11:44 pm by Tarty

Canberra July 15th-16th

Basic Impetus 2
28mm
Game days are Saturday and Sunday


Comments: 0

BI2 tournament - 25 March 2017

Thu Jan 26, 2017 10:08 am by RogerC

Would anyone be interested in a 28mm Basic Impetus 2 tournament on 25 March …

Comments: 24

28mm Impetus Competition York Sunday 5th February 2017

Mon Oct 03, 2016 8:44 am by Cyrus The Adequate

The traditional start to the Impetus Competition calendar in the UK is York in …

Comments: 80

October 2017
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
      1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031     

Calendar Calendar


Shoot and charge

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Shoot and charge

Post by jorneto on Thu Jan 08, 2015 2:24 pm

A doubt that has been growing in our group:

Can a unit both shoot AND charge? Or only one of those two actions?

jorneto
VBU 2
VBU 2

Posts : 81
Reputation : 3
Join date : 2014-06-16
Location : Portugal

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Shoot and charge

Post by Gaius Cassius on Fri Jan 09, 2015 3:35 am

Yes. The unit can move and shoot or shoot and then move. In the first case the unit deducts one die from its total firing dice (with a few minor exceptions such as javelin.) In the later case a unit can hold back one or more dice when it fires so that it can move afterwards.

So CM VBU5 firing at an infantry unit at 10U would normally have 5 dice to fire if it started its turn stationary. But suppose it wanted to fire and then charge. It would deduct one die from the firing and then charge. If it fired its full allotment then it could not move after firing.

In the case of javelin armed infantry there is no penalty to fire and move once so it is very good tactic to fire at the enemy, see what happens and then if the situation looks good charge in.
avatar
Gaius Cassius
VBU 7 h.c.
VBU 7 h.c.

Posts : 765
Reputation : 15
Join date : 2014-05-20
Location : Guelph, Ontario, Canada

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Shoot and charge

Post by jorneto on Fri Jan 09, 2015 12:48 pm

Thanks's.

It all came out after some VBU5 & 6 guilmans making some spetacular shooting and then charging!

It's really important to screen own main line with light troops.

jorneto
VBU 2
VBU 2

Posts : 81
Reputation : 3
Join date : 2014-06-16
Location : Portugal

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Shoot and charge

Post by Granicus Gaugamela on Mon Jan 12, 2015 9:59 am

Key thing to remember though is there is no group shooting. If a unit wants to shoot then it is "one out" and must complete its actions prior to the next unit starting.

Granicus Gaugamela
VBU 4
VBU 4

Posts : 435
Reputation : 11
Join date : 2014-05-19

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Shoot and charge

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum