Latest topics
» Impetus at Derby?
Yesterday at 7:45 am by Zennor

» Any news on Impetus 2?
Fri May 19, 2017 2:12 pm by Nick B

» Evading and Reaction Fire
Fri May 19, 2017 1:45 pm by Zippee

» 15mm Impetus Agema Phalanx
Fri May 19, 2017 10:27 am by Zippee

» Baroque - ECW Game
Thu May 11, 2017 9:39 pm by Tarty

» An Ancient Campaign using Sabin's Empire as a basis and Basic Impetus (augmented) to fight the battles
Thu May 11, 2017 7:42 pm by T13A

» 15mm Ancients - FP
Mon May 08, 2017 9:05 pm by stecal

» Baroque ECW Royalist
Mon May 08, 2017 9:04 pm by stecal

» 15mm Ancients - CP-CM-CL and Camels
Mon May 08, 2017 1:01 pm by Zippee

Impetus at Derby?

Thu Apr 27, 2017 9:29 am by Cyrus The Adequate

Anyone interested ? 7th & 8th October at a new venue - Bruntingthorpe …

Comments: 10

Wintercon '17 July 15-16th

Sat May 06, 2017 11:44 pm by Tarty

Canberra July 15th-16th

Basic Impetus 2
28mm
Game days are Saturday and Sunday


Comments: 0

BI2 tournament - 25 March 2017

Thu Jan 26, 2017 10:08 am by RogerC

Would anyone be interested in a 28mm Basic Impetus 2 tournament on 25 March …

Comments: 24

28mm Impetus Competition York Sunday 5th February 2017

Mon Oct 03, 2016 8:44 am by Cyrus The Adequate

The traditional start to the Impetus Competition calendar in the UK is York in …

Comments: 80

1° BASIC IMPETUS tournament

Sat Dec 17, 2016 11:19 am by PAPERO

in Castegnato , near Brescia, Sunday, 08.01.2017 Cool

1st tournament BASIC …

Comments: 3

Cancon '17 Canberra, Aus

Mon Nov 07, 2016 2:15 am by Tarty

Cancon '17
Canberra, ACT

28mm  400pts
Friday 27th and Saturday 28th of …

Comments: 0

May 2017
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031    

Calendar Calendar


ACTIONS WHILST ON OPPORTUNITY

View previous topic View next topic Go down

ACTIONS WHILST ON OPPORTUNITY

Post by Dennis Maxentius on Wed Feb 11, 2015 11:44 pm

Another point that came up in a game last night was, what is allowed whilst on Opportunity.   My understanding is that a Unit on Opportunity can shoot or Opportunity Charge an enemy Unit at any time during the opponents move as long as it is within movement or shooting range and arc and is not restricted to whether the enemy enters or crosses your ZOC or not (so is not restricted to 5U range).   This is another point I gave up on in frustration  Rolling Eyes  Sad .

I was referred to 4.2 in the rules but I thought that was regarding ANY unit that was not Disordered had it's ZOC violated and not Units already on Opportunity. This is for a Unit not already on Opportunity. Am I overcomplicating things??? Rolling Eyes

Opinions please.

Dennis silent
avatar
Dennis Maxentius
VBU 3
VBU 3

Posts : 216
Reputation : 0
Join date : 2014-08-22
Location : Australia

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: ACTIONS WHILST ON OPPORTUNITY

Post by Granicus Gaugamela on Thu Feb 12, 2015 12:53 am

2.6.4 covers Opportunity unity, and allows reaction when the "enemy is activated and can therefore return fire, counter charge or charge an enemy unit in that unit's activation phase.." So that wod seem to give a list of allowable actions.

Equally elsewhere on the forum it has been discussed that opportunity occurs at any point but there is nothing to stop a unit declaring "triple move straight ahead" which means that even if an opportunity capable opponent disorders them in move 1 the unit can still go for three moves (regular discipline tests permitting).

Granicus Gaugamela
VBU 4
VBU 4

Posts : 426
Reputation : 11
Join date : 2014-05-19

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: ACTIONS WHILST ON OPPORTUNITY

Post by Granicus Gaugamela on Thu Feb 12, 2015 12:58 am

ZoC is a different beastie covered by 4.2 (as you note). The allowed reactions are "like a unit placed on Opportunity" but they are triggered differently I.e. By going on Opportunity the player can choose at any point an enemy is activated to take their Opportunity action whilst a ZOC action can only be undertaken when firing or non contacting direction movement occurs within the ZoC of a unit.

Granicus Gaugamela
VBU 4
VBU 4

Posts : 426
Reputation : 11
Join date : 2014-05-19

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: ACTIONS WHILST ON OPPORTUNITY

Post by Dennis Maxentius on Thu Feb 12, 2015 2:03 am

Thank you both. Exactly the points I made but I gave up in frustration when I was eventually told I was wrong and I was over complicating things and I that I overanalyse everything.

Feels better knowing I'm not the only one that can actually derive the same meaning as you guys. So I'm not crazy after all What a Face Cool .

Cheers,

Dennis
avatar
Dennis Maxentius
VBU 3
VBU 3

Posts : 216
Reputation : 0
Join date : 2014-08-22
Location : Australia

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: ACTIONS WHILST ON OPPORTUNITY

Post by dadiepiombo on Thu Feb 12, 2015 8:06 am

Granicus wrote:Equally elsewhere on the forum it has been discussed that opportunity occurs at any point but there is nothing to stop a unit declaring "triple move straight ahead" which means that even if an opportunity capable opponent disorders them in move 1 the unit can still go for three moves (regular discipline tests permitting).

Well, if the unit is in disorder it cannot take further movements.
So if a Unit is moving its first move and I shoot (being in opportunity) during this movement, if I disorder it, then it cannot move again.
avatar
dadiepiombo
Admin
Admin

Posts : 841
Reputation : 30
Join date : 2014-05-15

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: ACTIONS WHILST ON OPPORTUNITY

Post by Dennis Maxentius on Thu Feb 12, 2015 8:45 am

That was my understanding. A Unit in Disorder cannot be on Opportunity. Thanks.

Dennis
avatar
Dennis Maxentius
VBU 3
VBU 3

Posts : 216
Reputation : 0
Join date : 2014-08-22
Location : Australia

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: ACTIONS WHILST ON OPPORTUNITY

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum