Latest topics
» Help in making a errata/FAQ
Yesterday at 7:56 am by wombatdazzler

» find Notes of Schermagliatori
Tue Jun 27, 2017 3:51 pm by dadiepiombo

» Impetus at Derby?
Tue Jun 27, 2017 9:43 am by Cyrus The Adequate

» Will the Army list be changed by Impetus 2
Tue Jun 20, 2017 11:14 am by dadiepiombo

» Opportunity Charge clarification
Tue Jun 20, 2017 11:11 am by dadiepiombo

» Different base size
Tue Jun 20, 2017 11:07 am by dadiepiombo

» Main unit and Support unit in second combat
Tue Jun 20, 2017 11:02 am by dadiepiombo

» Toughening Up CP
Thu Jun 15, 2017 10:46 pm by Cyrus The Adequate

» An Ancient Campaign using Sabin's Empire as a basis and Basic Impetus (augmented) to fight the battles
Thu Jun 15, 2017 5:53 pm by 1ngram

Impetus at Derby?

Thu Apr 27, 2017 9:29 am by Cyrus The Adequate

Anyone interested ? 7th & 8th October at a new venue - Bruntingthorpe …

Comments: 11

Wintercon '17 July 15-16th

Sat May 06, 2017 11:44 pm by Tarty

Canberra July 15th-16th

Basic Impetus 2
28mm
Game days are Saturday and Sunday


Comments: 0

BI2 tournament - 25 March 2017

Thu Jan 26, 2017 10:08 am by RogerC

Would anyone be interested in a 28mm Basic Impetus 2 tournament on 25 March …

Comments: 24

28mm Impetus Competition York Sunday 5th February 2017

Mon Oct 03, 2016 8:44 am by Cyrus The Adequate

The traditional start to the Impetus Competition calendar in the UK is York in …

Comments: 80

1° BASIC IMPETUS tournament

Sat Dec 17, 2016 11:19 am by PAPERO

in Castegnato , near Brescia, Sunday, 08.01.2017 Cool

1st tournament BASIC …

Comments: 3

Cancon '17 Canberra, Aus

Mon Nov 07, 2016 2:15 am by Tarty

Cancon '17
Canberra, ACT

28mm  400pts
Friday 27th and Saturday 28th of …

Comments: 0

June 2017
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
   1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Calendar Calendar


INTERPENETRATION QUESTIONS

View previous topic View next topic Go down

INTERPENETRATION QUESTIONS

Post by Dennis Maxentius on Fri Feb 20, 2015 2:31 am

Something that came up in a game the other night was the question of Interpenetrations.

Q1. Does an Interpenetrating Unit have to have the front of it's base pass completely past the front of the Unit it is attempting to Interpenetrate?

Q2. In the case of S, FL and T Units they are placed behind the Unit Interpenetrating them even if the Interpenetration is incomplete. Does this mean that even if I clip the back corner of one of those Units they move to the back?

Q3. Another question, when a Unit is Interpenetrated and it is placed behind the Interpenetrating Unit, does it maintain its original frontage/facing or does it conform to the frontage of the Interpenetrating Unit?

Dennis
avatar
Dennis Maxentius
VBU 3
VBU 3

Posts : 216
Reputation : 0
Join date : 2014-08-22
Location : Australia

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: INTERPENETRATION QUESTIONS

Post by Tarty on Fri Feb 20, 2015 4:17 am

Yes to all those.
Last question- the unit it is interpenetrating does maintain it's original facing and placed behind.
Richard
avatar
Tarty
VBU 7 h.c.
VBU 7 h.c.

Posts : 519
Reputation : 9
Join date : 2014-05-19
Location : SYDNEY

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: INTERPENETRATION QUESTIONS

Post by Aurelius on Fri Feb 20, 2015 11:29 am

Q1 We have always played that the trailing edge of an interpenetrating has to clear the stationary unit, (with the exception of Q2 of course).

Q2 Yes

Q3 As Tarty says.

TD

Aurelius
VBU 3
VBU 3

Posts : 154
Reputation : 0
Join date : 2014-05-19

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: INTERPENETRATION QUESTIONS

Post by Tarty on Fri Feb 20, 2015 2:05 pm

Aurelius wrote:Q1 We have always played that the trailing edge of an interpenetrating has to clear the stationary unit, (with the exception of Q2 of course).

yes that's what I meant to say Smile
avatar
Tarty
VBU 7 h.c.
VBU 7 h.c.

Posts : 519
Reputation : 9
Join date : 2014-05-19
Location : SYDNEY

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: INTERPENETRATION QUESTIONS

Post by RogerC on Fri Feb 20, 2015 10:12 pm

I agree that in the Q1 case, the interpenetrating unit must clear the interpenetrated unit. We've also played this to require that such interpenetration is completed in a single movement phase.

Sometimes that means the interpenetrating unit moves to the back of the unit to be interpenetrated in one phase, then carries out the interpenetration in a second movement phase. There are a few situations where this makes interpenetration impossible (eg T trying to move forward through a deep pike block).

In the Q2 case, on the other hand, once the T, CL, S or FL starts to move back, it keeps on going until it can find clear space to stop.

RogerC

RogerC
VBU 3
VBU 3

Posts : 138
Reputation : 3
Join date : 2014-05-20

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: INTERPENETRATION QUESTIONS

Post by Dennis Maxentius on Mon Feb 23, 2015 7:53 am

Thanks guys, that's pretty much the way we've been playing it, however, in Q1 does the (whole) Unit have to completely Interpenetrate a Unit or does just the front of the Unit have to clear the front of the Unit being Interpenetrated?
avatar
Dennis Maxentius
VBU 3
VBU 3

Posts : 216
Reputation : 0
Join date : 2014-08-22
Location : Australia

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: INTERPENETRATION QUESTIONS

Post by Tarty on Mon Feb 23, 2015 7:59 am

Whole unit Dennis. So if you don't have enough move to go the whole way then you need to take a second move.
avatar
Tarty
VBU 7 h.c.
VBU 7 h.c.

Posts : 519
Reputation : 9
Join date : 2014-05-19
Location : SYDNEY

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: INTERPENETRATION QUESTIONS

Post by Dennis Maxentius on Mon Feb 23, 2015 8:06 am

Thanks Mate. We've played it that as long as the front of the Interpenetrating Unit clears the front of the Unit being Interpenetrated, then the Interpenetration is complete. Reason for this is that depending on the angle that the Units are facing, in some cases Interpenetration will never be achieved in one move.
avatar
Dennis Maxentius
VBU 3
VBU 3

Posts : 216
Reputation : 0
Join date : 2014-08-22
Location : Australia

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: INTERPENETRATION QUESTIONS

Post by Cyrus The Adequate on Mon Apr 20, 2015 6:56 am

I'm pretty certain we dont play it like that - which of course probably means we are wrong, however - can I ask a rather important follow up - all the above applies to voluntary interpenetration.

How do you deal with involuntary interpenetration, specifically troops pushed back in melee - for example a unit of T or FL that has another friendly T or FL unit behind them?
avatar
Cyrus The Adequate
VBU 5
VBU 5

Posts : 523
Reputation : 0
Join date : 2014-05-27

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: INTERPENETRATION QUESTIONS

Post by Tarty on Mon Apr 20, 2015 10:58 am

Ts of FLs pushed back in melee interpenetrate other Ts and FLs and get placed behind.
avatar
Tarty
VBU 7 h.c.
VBU 7 h.c.

Posts : 519
Reputation : 9
Join date : 2014-05-19
Location : SYDNEY

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: INTERPENETRATION QUESTIONS

Post by Cyrus The Adequate on Mon Apr 20, 2015 11:30 am

So why do you think the same does not apply if they are going forward?

You appear to be enforcing two different standards - voluntary interpenetration forward you must clear the front of the base to interpenetrate, but involuntary interpenetration they do so immediately they contact - do you see the contradiction?
avatar
Cyrus The Adequate
VBU 5
VBU 5

Posts : 523
Reputation : 0
Join date : 2014-05-27

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: INTERPENETRATION QUESTIONS

Post by dadiepiombo on Mon Apr 20, 2015 12:22 pm

voluntary interpenetration and involuntary interperpenetration are not the same as otherwise there was no need to make 2 different paragraph.
Actually involutary inter. is more a push back since the impetuous troops are no longer forced to cross "solid" friendly units (as it was before the amendment).

The general rule is that you have to complete the crossing and in some cases you need more than 1 movement phase to clear.
Some troops (S, FL, T, CL) make an exception and leave the way once the interpenetration is over even if this was not enough to clear. So T/S/CL/FL are pushed back (keeping the same frontage) once the interpenetrating units stops.

avatar
dadiepiombo
Admin
Admin

Posts : 848
Reputation : 33
Join date : 2014-05-15

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: INTERPENETRATION QUESTIONS

Post by Cyrus The Adequate on Mon Apr 20, 2015 12:56 pm

Hi Lorenzo - thanks for that - can you explain what happens when a unit of non impetuous FL is forced to recoil by losing a melee and there is another unit the same directly behind - and what is the effect on the second unit?
avatar
Cyrus The Adequate
VBU 5
VBU 5

Posts : 523
Reputation : 0
Join date : 2014-05-27

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: INTERPENETRATION QUESTIONS

Post by dadiepiombo on Mon Apr 20, 2015 1:16 pm

5.10.2
second sentence

If S, FL, T and CL forced to retreat, they interpenetrate any troop type and are placed behind them as soon as the crossing begins.
All other troops (except for Elephants), when forced
to retreat, do not interpenetrate but push back...
avatar
dadiepiombo
Admin
Admin

Posts : 848
Reputation : 33
Join date : 2014-05-15

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: INTERPENETRATION QUESTIONS

Post by dadiepiombo on Mon Apr 20, 2015 1:17 pm

so they "cross" with no other consequences
avatar
dadiepiombo
Admin
Admin

Posts : 848
Reputation : 33
Join date : 2014-05-15

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: INTERPENETRATION QUESTIONS

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum