Latest topics
» Basic Battles expansion
Yesterday at 7:18 pm by stecal

» any players in the northwest ?
Yesterday at 2:56 pm by Jim Webster

» Basic Impetus v Impetus?
Yesterday at 11:28 am by stecal

» Impetus Competition Derby Worlds 2017
Wed Aug 16, 2017 4:31 pm by slowjoecrow

» First 3 games with Ptolemaics
Fri Aug 11, 2017 5:29 pm by Jim Webster

» Great Italian Wars by Sowabud
Sun Aug 06, 2017 6:26 am by Jim Webster

» Pilum, PBW and Impetus
Wed Aug 02, 2017 11:59 am by grenadiergrandson

» Help in making a errata/FAQ
Tue Aug 01, 2017 12:44 am by Tarty

» Swedish list Hakkapelitta
Sun Jul 30, 2017 11:40 am by stecal

Impetus Competition Derby Worlds 2017

Sun Jul 02, 2017 4:42 pm by Cyrus The Adequate

There will be a 28mm Impetus Competition at Derby World Wargames on 7th …

Comments: 6

Impetus at Derby?

Thu Apr 27, 2017 9:29 am by Cyrus The Adequate

Anyone interested ? 7th & 8th October at a new venue - Bruntingthorpe …

Comments: 11

Wintercon '17 July 15-16th

Sat May 06, 2017 11:44 pm by Tarty

Canberra July 15th-16th

Basic Impetus 2
28mm
Game days are Saturday and Sunday


Comments: 0

BI2 tournament - 25 March 2017

Thu Jan 26, 2017 10:08 am by RogerC

Would anyone be interested in a 28mm Basic Impetus 2 tournament on 25 March …

Comments: 24

28mm Impetus Competition York Sunday 5th February 2017

Mon Oct 03, 2016 8:44 am by Cyrus The Adequate

The traditional start to the Impetus Competition calendar in the UK is York in …

Comments: 80

1° BASIC IMPETUS tournament

Sat Dec 17, 2016 11:19 am by PAPERO

in Castegnato , near Brescia, Sunday, 08.01.2017 Cool

1st tournament BASIC …

Comments: 3

August 2017
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031   

Calendar Calendar


Beginning a flank charge

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Beginning a flank charge

Post by Oldentired on Sun Apr 12, 2015 1:26 am

apologies, i know this has been answered before, but i can't find the thread in the old forum.

a flank/rear charge has to begin behind a units frontage.

does "begin" apply to the entire movement phase, or just the individual movement?

i'm reading that it's the former - i.e. a unit can't advance past the frontage of an enemy unit, then finding itself entirely behind the enemy's frontage declare a charge and have it be a flank attack. imagine something like a CGL moving and wheeling into a foot unit.

Oldentired
VBU 2
VBU 2

Posts : 76
Reputation : 0
Join date : 2014-06-02

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Beginning a flank charge

Post by Tarty on Sun Apr 12, 2015 1:58 am

Applies to the 'final' move.....if it takes two moves to get in position so be it so long as the last move meets all the requirements of a flank charge.

avatar
Tarty
VBU 7 h.c.
VBU 7 h.c.

Posts : 525
Reputation : 9
Join date : 2014-05-19
Location : SYDNEY

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Beginning a flank charge

Post by Oldentired on Sun Apr 12, 2015 2:05 am

yeah that was my memory. any chance we could get an official verification?

Oldentired
VBU 2
VBU 2

Posts : 76
Reputation : 0
Join date : 2014-06-02

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Beginning a flank charge

Post by Tarty on Sun Apr 12, 2015 2:22 am

Sure thing.
Btw you can't wheel into contact with your CGL example must be a straight move. Take it from me as a bronze age player myself it's hard to get chariots in on a flank Sad requires 3 moves minimum. 1 for the compulsory half move forward 1 for the wheel and 1 for the move in......difficult.
avatar
Tarty
VBU 7 h.c.
VBU 7 h.c.

Posts : 525
Reputation : 9
Join date : 2014-05-19
Location : SYDNEY

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Beginning a flank charge

Post by Gaius Cassius on Sun Apr 12, 2015 3:23 am

Tarty is correct on both accounts!!
avatar
Gaius Cassius
VBU 7 h.c.
VBU 7 h.c.

Posts : 761
Reputation : 15
Join date : 2014-05-20
Location : Guelph, Ontario, Canada

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Beginning a flank charge

Post by Oldentired on Sun Apr 12, 2015 5:27 am

wait, so that brings up another point. charges have to be straight ahead right?

so an impetus unit must lose control if not held, and will wheel towards the nearest enemy. but is a charge an entirely separate move?

we played it that a CP unit charged the nearest unit, but it was given a free wheel as part of the movement, because it was the first movement of the turn.


Oldentired
VBU 2
VBU 2

Posts : 76
Reputation : 0
Join date : 2014-06-02

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Beginning a flank charge

Post by Tarty on Sun Apr 12, 2015 7:45 am

Oldentired wrote:but is a charge an entirely separate move?


No not a separate move. impetuous troops 'can' wheel and move in the one move. The wheel ( if used ) must be in the direction of the closest enemy and is deducted from their move allowance. I say 'if used' because to full fill their impetuous obligations all that's required is a full move straight ahead ....the wheel is optional.

If used the wheel happens at the start with the remainder in a straight line ending in contact ( if they still have enough left over )....that makes it legal. Just wheeling into contact with no straight forward move at all is not legal.

Hope that makes sense ? and I've covered everything Smile
avatar
Tarty
VBU 7 h.c.
VBU 7 h.c.

Posts : 525
Reputation : 9
Join date : 2014-05-19
Location : SYDNEY

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Beginning a flank charge

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum