Latest topics
» Why can Longbows Fire at Point Blank Range & Not Others?
Yesterday at 5:49 pm by Zippee

» "Long Spear" if not in a large unit
Yesterday at 3:35 pm by Eques

» What are the main Changes between Impetus & Baroque?
Yesterday at 3:29 pm by Zippee

» Looking for Players in the Midlands (UK)
Yesterday at 2:53 pm by Eques

» Improving Pilum?
Tue Dec 12, 2017 5:03 am by Tarty

» Help in making a errata/FAQ
Mon Dec 11, 2017 9:07 pm by prapor

» Dragons de Vaires 2017
Sun Dec 10, 2017 7:41 pm by Bobo

» What are the Benefits of being in a Group?
Fri Dec 08, 2017 4:25 pm by Tankred

» BI2-Samurai 'Big Battle'
Fri Dec 08, 2017 3:36 pm by Tankred

Vapnartak York Feb 2018- format options?

Wed Oct 18, 2017 8:26 am by Cyrus The Adequate

Hi everyone

I was pondering the options for the York competition and wondered …

Comments: 11

Basic Impetus 2 Comp, January 2018?

Mon Oct 30, 2017 10:03 am by Aurelius

Would anyone be interested in a 28mm Basic Impetus 2 tournament, Saturday …

Comments: 15

Impetus Competition Derby Worlds 2017

Sun Jul 02, 2017 4:42 pm by Cyrus The Adequate

There will be a 28mm Impetus Competition at Derby World Wargames on 7th …

Comments: 47

Impetus at Derby?

Thu Apr 27, 2017 9:29 am by Cyrus The Adequate

Anyone interested ? 7th & 8th October at a new venue - Bruntingthorpe …

Comments: 11

Wintercon '17 July 15-16th

Sat May 06, 2017 11:44 pm by Tarty

Canberra July 15th-16th

Basic Impetus 2
28mm
Game days are Saturday and Sunday


Comments: 0

BI2 tournament - 25 March 2017

Thu Jan 26, 2017 10:08 am by RogerC

Would anyone be interested in a 28mm Basic Impetus 2 tournament on 25 March …

Comments: 24

December 2017
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
    123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Calendar Calendar


Quick Question re Melees (Main units and Supports)

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Quick Question re Melees (Main units and Supports)

Post by AncientWarrior on Sat Nov 21, 2015 8:19 pm

Gents -

If one separates a melee involving multiple units into three or more main unit vs main unit melees (depending on result and direction of resolution), it is possible and permissible for a main unit to become a supporting unit if an enemy formation is forced to withdraw.

Now, let's say that the former main unit was disordered as a result of the first melee.
As the enemy has withdrawn, this unit can now support its neighbor when it (the neighbor) fights as a main unit. If the dice go against them and these units are forced to withdraw, does the supporting unit get a casualty/VBU loss since it is already disordered?

The top left of page 41 states that this is so.

Just wanted to check.

Thanks.

Chris

AncientWarrior
VBU 2
VBU 2

Posts : 75
Reputation : 3
Join date : 2014-06-09
Age : 52
Location : USA - Midwest region

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Quick Question re Melees (Main units and Supports)

Post by Granicus Gaugamela on Sat Nov 21, 2015 11:46 pm

The key thing to remember is that after every melee is resolved (ie once you have finished rolling all of the dice for a main units and their support) you recalculate who are main units and who are support units.

Whilst a unit cannot be engaged as a main unit and act as support in the same melee, it is considered a NEW melee when you have completed the melee, inc follow up etc, for the active unit you are rolling the dice for.

It's a touch confusing and it does mean that the order of unit melee resolution can be critical, if you can get a slight overlap and drive the enemy away you can then get support for teh unit next door, the downside of course is that if the opponent wins then he is in a stronger defensive position.

Granicus Gaugamela
VBU 4
VBU 4

Posts : 440
Reputation : 11
Join date : 2014-05-19

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Quick Question re Melees (Main units and Supports)

Post by Aurelius on Sun Nov 22, 2015 12:41 pm

" If the dice go against them and these units are forced to withdraw, does the supporting unit get a casualty/VBU loss since it is already disordered? "

I believe that support units do not take a VBU loss. They certainly recoil and take a disorder, but the last sentence of page 40 says that only the main takes VBU losses. I guess the idea of a VBU loss because of accumulating disorder's comes from 7.6.1, but that paragraph refers to having passed the units own cohesion test. So an additional disorder on a support has no effect.

Aurelius
VBU 3
VBU 3

Posts : 171
Reputation : 0
Join date : 2014-05-19

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Quick Question re Melees (Main units and Supports)

Post by dadiepiombo on Sun Nov 22, 2015 3:40 pm

So an additional disorder on a support has no effect.

yes, to keep it simple, you get a loss to VBU if already Disordered and you have to take a Cohesion Test (unless you get more losses due to the failure of the test)
avatar
dadiepiombo
Admin
Admin

Posts : 883
Reputation : 33
Join date : 2014-05-15

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Quick Question re Melees (Main units and Supports)

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum