Latest topics
» Basic Impetus v Impetus?
Today at 2:40 am by Tarty

» find Notes of Schermagliatori
Yesterday at 5:58 am by Jim Webster

» Different base size
Sat Jul 22, 2017 3:28 pm by grenadiergrandson

» Lance and Point Blank Pistol
Sat Jul 22, 2017 3:21 pm by grenadiergrandson

» An Ancient Campaign using Sabin's Empire as a basis and Basic Impetus (augmented) to fight the battles
Thu Jul 20, 2017 4:41 pm by 1ngram

» Impetus Competition Derby Worlds 2017
Thu Jul 20, 2017 4:33 pm by The_BHGS

» Artillery cohesion checks
Thu Jul 20, 2017 9:15 am by ScouserLee

» Japanese Samurai Basic Impetus Game
Wed Jul 19, 2017 4:48 pm by jeztodd

» Help in making a errata/FAQ
Mon Jul 17, 2017 11:55 am by jorneto

Impetus Competition Derby Worlds 2017

Sun Jul 02, 2017 4:42 pm by Cyrus The Adequate

There will be a 28mm Impetus Competition at Derby World Wargames on 7th …

Comments: 3

Impetus at Derby?

Thu Apr 27, 2017 9:29 am by Cyrus The Adequate

Anyone interested ? 7th & 8th October at a new venue - Bruntingthorpe …

Comments: 11

Wintercon '17 July 15-16th

Sat May 06, 2017 11:44 pm by Tarty

Canberra July 15th-16th

Basic Impetus 2
28mm
Game days are Saturday and Sunday


Comments: 0

BI2 tournament - 25 March 2017

Thu Jan 26, 2017 10:08 am by RogerC

Would anyone be interested in a 28mm Basic Impetus 2 tournament on 25 March …

Comments: 24

28mm Impetus Competition York Sunday 5th February 2017

Mon Oct 03, 2016 8:44 am by Cyrus The Adequate

The traditional start to the Impetus Competition calendar in the UK is York in …

Comments: 80

1° BASIC IMPETUS tournament

Sat Dec 17, 2016 11:19 am by PAPERO

in Castegnato , near Brescia, Sunday, 08.01.2017 Cool

1st tournament BASIC …

Comments: 3

July 2017
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
     12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31      

Calendar Calendar


ZoC Question

View previous topic View next topic Go down

ZoC Question

Post by Granicus Gaugamela on Tue Jan 05, 2016 2:16 am

One of the rules that has been coming up a few times recently is whether or not a unit that has a ZoC can react in the event that a unit passes completely through and fully exits that ZoC.

4.2 p22 contains the paragraph that states "A Unit may not react if the enemy does not manage to contact due to the distance required to be covered (eg insufficient Charge Movement Bonus), nor may it react if the enemy leaves the ZC or retreats distancing itself from the front of the Unit that exercises the Zoc".

Does the phrase "leaves the ZC" mean only if the Unit STARTED in the ZC or if it bother Enters AND Leaves (eg CL moving full tilt across the front of some troops within 5U of them and ending up completely out the other side of their ZoC)?

Equally the next paragraph states "A Unit can react to any enemy that wheels within the ZC or performs oblique or sideways movement".

What if that wheel, oblique or sideways movement takes them completely out of the ZC?

thanks

GG


Granicus Gaugamela
VBU 4
VBU 4

Posts : 435
Reputation : 11
Join date : 2014-05-19

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: ZoC Question

Post by Gaius Cassius on Tue Jan 05, 2016 2:44 am

If the unit begins in the ZOC of an enemy unit and is moving on a trajectory that would not have it contact this same unit but manages to fully exit the ZOC the enemy unit does not get to react. So for instance Ex.4 and Ex. 6 on page 23.

The moment a unit wheels or oblique moves within a ZOC of an enemy unit in good order a reaction is permitted. It doesn't matter whether the moving unit is able to leave the ZOC as a result of this move.

4.2 could be written in a more clear manner.
avatar
Gaius Cassius
VBU 7 h.c.
VBU 7 h.c.

Posts : 761
Reputation : 15
Join date : 2014-05-20
Location : Guelph, Ontario, Canada

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: ZoC Question

Post by stuuk on Tue Jan 05, 2016 9:31 pm

Yes it's not very well worded. We had the situation today where a cavalry unit was in a zoc and couldn't leave the zoc (nowhere to go) nor could it evade away as the enemy had a unit behind (by a few millimeters..)

Couldn't oblique away as the reaction is immediate. Same for wheeling. Couldn't turn about since that would be movement in the zoc on a trajectory which wouldn't result in contact (triggering reaction).
Thus the cavalry could make no move..

stuuk
VBU 2
VBU 2

Posts : 21
Reputation : 0
Join date : 2015-12-20

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: ZoC Question

Post by Scruff on Wed Jan 06, 2016 9:32 am

Only a basic player here as we build up armies, but surely if your cavalry was "trapped" like that, it also had the option to charge. Sounds like the option I would choose, esp with enemy unit behind you as well

cheers

Scruff
VBU 2
VBU 2

Posts : 20
Reputation : 0
Join date : 2016-01-01

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: ZoC Question

Post by RogerC on Wed Jan 06, 2016 12:53 pm

The question of units moving through the ZOC (starting and finishing outside) came up on the old forum (how much longer will it still be there?). Here is the link. It is grenadiergrandson's question 2. Lorenzo's answers are towards the bottom of page 1 and on page 2.

http://impetus.forumsland.com/impetus-about4324-0-asc-0.html

So a unit which moves into a ZOC not on a path which would contact the enemy, and which isn't obliquing or wheeling, triggers a reaction even if it leaves the ZOC in the same move. I remember this mainly because I argued for the opposite interpretation!

So CL or similar just clipping the ZOC may suffer. Some limit, at least, on those pesky CL moves.

RogerC

RogerC
VBU 3
VBU 3

Posts : 138
Reputation : 3
Join date : 2014-05-20

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: ZoC Question

Post by stuuk on Wed Jan 06, 2016 1:06 pm

Sure it had the option to charge veteran spears ;0
Not really an option. Did anyway as it was better than him hitting me, though the end result was a cavalry massacre.

It was as a result of a double move that this happened.

stuuk
VBU 2
VBU 2

Posts : 21
Reputation : 0
Join date : 2015-12-20

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: ZoC Question

Post by Gaius Cassius on Wed Jan 06, 2016 1:41 pm

Thanks RogerC. I forgot to answer the other half of GG's question.
avatar
Gaius Cassius
VBU 7 h.c.
VBU 7 h.c.

Posts : 761
Reputation : 15
Join date : 2014-05-20
Location : Guelph, Ontario, Canada

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: ZoC Question

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum