Latest topics
» Dragons de Vaires 2017
Today at 10:46 am by nikko

» Basic Impetus 2 Comp, January 2018?
Yesterday at 10:28 am by RogerC

» Why can Longbows Fire at Point Blank Range & Not Others?
Fri Dec 15, 2017 6:10 pm by Gaius Cassius

» "Long Spear" if not in a large unit
Wed Dec 13, 2017 3:35 pm by Eques

» What are the main Changes between Impetus & Baroque?
Wed Dec 13, 2017 3:29 pm by Zippee

» Looking for Players in the Midlands (UK)
Wed Dec 13, 2017 2:53 pm by Eques

» Improving Pilum?
Tue Dec 12, 2017 5:03 am by Tarty

» Help in making a errata/FAQ
Mon Dec 11, 2017 9:07 pm by prapor

» What are the Benefits of being in a Group?
Fri Dec 08, 2017 4:25 pm by Tankred

Basic Impetus 2 Comp, January 2018?

Mon Oct 30, 2017 10:03 am by Aurelius

Would anyone be interested in a 28mm Basic Impetus 2 tournament, Saturday …

Comments: 17

Vapnartak York Feb 2018- format options?

Wed Oct 18, 2017 8:26 am by Cyrus The Adequate

Hi everyone

I was pondering the options for the York competition and wondered …

Comments: 11

Impetus Competition Derby Worlds 2017

Sun Jul 02, 2017 4:42 pm by Cyrus The Adequate

There will be a 28mm Impetus Competition at Derby World Wargames on 7th …

Comments: 47

Impetus at Derby?

Thu Apr 27, 2017 9:29 am by Cyrus The Adequate

Anyone interested ? 7th & 8th October at a new venue - Bruntingthorpe …

Comments: 11

Wintercon '17 July 15-16th

Sat May 06, 2017 11:44 pm by Tarty

Canberra July 15th-16th

Basic Impetus 2
28mm
Game days are Saturday and Sunday


Comments: 0

BI2 tournament - 25 March 2017

Thu Jan 26, 2017 10:08 am by RogerC

Would anyone be interested in a 28mm Basic Impetus 2 tournament on 25 March …

Comments: 24

December 2017
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
    123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Calendar Calendar


"Impetuous" rule and skirmishers

View previous topic View next topic Go down

"Impetuous" rule and skirmishers

Post by Tombeapix on Wed Jan 06, 2016 10:22 am

Hello,

I had a question concerning impetuous troops and skirmishers.

The "impetuous" rule tells that if an impetuous unit (for example gallic warriors) sees an ennemy unit within 30U, it has to move in the direction of that unit.
But if a unit of skirmishers of my army stands in front of my warriors, does it block the line of sight of the warriors, and by the way prevent the unit of charging boldly (stupidly ?) the nearest ennemy ?

Or, said in an other way : is it possible to control impetuous units with skirmishers ? Same question with CL units ?

Hopping my question and my english are understandable...
Thanks

Tombeapix
VBU 2
VBU 2

Posts : 3
Reputation : 0
Join date : 2016-01-06

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: "Impetuous" rule and skirmishers

Post by RogerC on Wed Jan 06, 2016 1:04 pm

The S, or indeed CL don't block visibility for the impetuous unit. The impetuous unit just pushes through, displacing the S or CL if necessary. So you can't control impetuous troops with skirmishers.

Apart from keeping them in good order, on opportunity, the only way to stop impetuous troops is to create a log jam, by putting a unit they cannot interpenetrate in front of them. Then they can't move at all, until the blocking unit gets out of the way. Generally that isn't a good tactic, but can happen by accident or bad planning.

It may also be worth mentioning that impetuous troops don't 'see' enemy skirmishers, so impetuous units may have to move forward or towards another enemy unit, even when enemy skirmishers are nearby.

RogerC

RogerC
VBU 3
VBU 3

Posts : 154
Reputation : 3
Join date : 2014-05-20

View user profile

Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum