Latest topics
» Vapnartak York Feb 2018- format options?
Today at 12:25 am by Cyrus The Adequate

» Toughening Up CP Reprise
Today at 12:23 am by Cyrus The Adequate

» Line Relief and Triarii
Yesterday at 10:15 pm by Jim Webster

» Terrain Table A or B?
Yesterday at 9:07 am by RogerC

» Basic Impetus 2 Comp, January 2018?
Sun Nov 19, 2017 10:05 pm by Aurelius

» An Ancient Campaign using Sabin's Empire as a basis and Basic Impetus (augmented) to fight the battles
Fri Nov 10, 2017 12:20 pm by 1ngram

» Some more questions
Tue Nov 07, 2017 6:49 pm by dadiepiombo

» Baroque - ECW Game
Mon Nov 06, 2017 5:15 pm by GamesPoet

» Great Italian Wars by Sowabud
Mon Nov 06, 2017 5:12 pm by GamesPoet

Vapnartak York Feb 2018- format options?

Wed Oct 18, 2017 8:26 am by Cyrus The Adequate

Hi everyone

I was pondering the options for the York competition and wondered …

Comments: 6

Basic Impetus 2 Comp, January 2018?

Mon Oct 30, 2017 10:03 am by Aurelius

Would anyone be interested in a 28mm Basic Impetus 2 tournament, Saturday …

Comments: 11

Impetus Competition Derby Worlds 2017

Sun Jul 02, 2017 4:42 pm by Cyrus The Adequate

There will be a 28mm Impetus Competition at Derby World Wargames on 7th …

Comments: 47

Impetus at Derby?

Thu Apr 27, 2017 9:29 am by Cyrus The Adequate

Anyone interested ? 7th & 8th October at a new venue - Bruntingthorpe …

Comments: 11

Wintercon '17 July 15-16th

Sat May 06, 2017 11:44 pm by Tarty

Canberra July 15th-16th

Basic Impetus 2
28mm
Game days are Saturday and Sunday


Comments: 0

BI2 tournament - 25 March 2017

Thu Jan 26, 2017 10:08 am by RogerC

Would anyone be interested in a 28mm Basic Impetus 2 tournament on 25 March …

Comments: 24

November 2017
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
  12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930   

Calendar Calendar


Ambush and Opportunity

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Ambush and Opportunity

Post by Granicus Gaugamela on Mon Jan 25, 2016 7:12 am

Got asked a question at CanCon:

When a Unit in ambush is revealed can it be claimed as on Opportunity?

Reading the rulebook it says if the reveal is done as part of deployment the Unit can be on opportunity but that is the only mention of it. My belief is Ambushing units cannot be on Opportunity except in that specific case but there is no rule about it either way

Granicus Gaugamela
VBU 4
VBU 4

Posts : 438
Reputation : 11
Join date : 2014-05-19

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Ambush and Opportunity

Post by Northman on Mon Jan 25, 2016 12:30 pm

Why not - the whole point of waiting in ambush is to wait for an opportunity to ambush - so if they are revealed because they are deploying then they must have seen an opportunity to attack Shocked

Northman
VBU 2
VBU 2

Posts : 1
Reputation : 0
Join date : 2015-06-09

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Ambush and Opportunity

Post by Gaius Cassius on Mon Jan 25, 2016 4:12 pm

It says in Advanced Impetus on p.V that "The unit in ambush is no longer considered on Opportunity." That seems pretty clear to me.
avatar
Gaius Cassius
VBU 7 h.c.
VBU 7 h.c.

Posts : 769
Reputation : 15
Join date : 2014-05-20
Location : Guelph, Ontario, Canada

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Ambush and Opportunity

Post by Granicus Gaugamela on Tue Jan 26, 2016 12:18 am

Gaius Cassius wrote:It says in Advanced Impetus on p.V that "The unit in ambush is no longer considered on Opportunity."  That seems pretty clear to me.

Excellent, on this we agree.

Now, ambushes can be deployed at any time.

What if the ambushing player deploys them before the enemy completes his move to within 6?

Are they able to be deployed on Opportunity then as the range trigger has not kicked in?

Would they be required to undertake the forced rollback as per the Advanced Rules if the enemy comes within range?

Granicus Gaugamela
VBU 4
VBU 4

Posts : 438
Reputation : 11
Join date : 2014-05-19

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Ambush and Opportunity

Post by Gaius Cassius on Tue Jan 26, 2016 4:20 am

Granicus Gaugamela wrote: What if the ambushing player deploys them before the enemy completes his move to within 6?

Are they able to be deployed on Opportunity then as the range trigger has not kicked in?

The rule is "The unit in ambush is no longer considered on Opportunity" so I would think not. I could always roll for opportunity but it is not automatically entitled to this status.

Would they be required to undertake the forced rollback as per the Advanced Rules if the enemy comes within range?

Why would a unit coming out of ambush in its activation be subject to anything related to being in ambush? Once it comes out of ambush it function as a regular unit.

I didn't read anything in ambush about units voluntarily coming out of ambush. Did I miss it? It seems reasonable to be able to do so but I didn't see it mentioned in the main rules book or AI.
avatar
Gaius Cassius
VBU 7 h.c.
VBU 7 h.c.

Posts : 769
Reputation : 15
Join date : 2014-05-20
Location : Guelph, Ontario, Canada

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Ambush and Opportunity

Post by Granicus Gaugamela on Tue Jan 26, 2016 7:09 am

Gaius Cassius wrote:
Granicus Gaugamela wrote: What if the ambushing player deploys them before the enemy completes his move to within 6?

Are they able to be deployed on Opportunity then as the range trigger has not kicked in?

The rule is "The unit in ambush is no longer considered on Opportunity" so I would think not. I could always roll for opportunity but it is not automatically entitled to this status.

Would they be required to undertake the forced rollback as per the Advanced Rules if the enemy comes within range?

Why would a unit coming out of ambush in its activation be subject to anything related to being in ambush? Once it comes out of ambush it function as a regular unit.

I didn't read anything in ambush about units voluntarily coming out of ambush. Did I miss it? It seems reasonable to be able to do so but I didn't see it mentioned in the main rules book or AI.

AI states that "The ambush is revealed when the controlling player decides to activate the hidden unit or when one enemy Unit comes within 6U of the terrain The "sighting" occurs at the end of the phase of movement..."

So there appears to be nothing stopping the controlling player activating the ambush unit as and when they like. Given ambushes can be deployed as the passive player there appears to be nothing stopping a player deploying his troops BEFORE the active player completes a move to within 6U.

Granicus Gaugamela
VBU 4
VBU 4

Posts : 438
Reputation : 11
Join date : 2014-05-19

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Ambush and Opportunity

Post by starkadder on Tue Jan 26, 2016 8:42 am

Ambushes seem to have been the flavour of Cancon '16. We had several in 28mm as well, GG.

The thing that stops you as the passive player is exactly that - you are the passive player. Your ambush options are activated by similar reaction triggers as 5UZOC, opportunity counter-charges and so on. The ambush trigger, and thus your ability to do anything, only kicks in at 6U. Nothing stops you as an active player from declaring them earlier, of course.

I was a serial bushwhacker at Cancon. All four games had ambushes from me. Their efficacy is doubtful. In the last game I simply put them down after two turns of waiting for the Huns to make a mistake. They didn't.

avatar
starkadder
VBU 4
VBU 4

Posts : 302
Reputation : 0
Join date : 2014-05-19
Age : 63
Location : Tahmoor, NSW, Oz

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Ambush and Opportunity

Post by Granicus Gaugamela on Wed Jan 27, 2016 12:09 am

Let's look at cavalry in ambush. The passive player sees the enemy approaching his terrain. Say 9U away. That's definite charge distance so the player can deploy the ambush.

But what if the enemy is moving toward the hill and will presumably end up within 6U? I realise the approaching player cannot contact them with his move but can the deployment be made and Opportunity status claimed if deployment is made before the Unit comes within 6U?

Granicus Gaugamela
VBU 4
VBU 4

Posts : 438
Reputation : 11
Join date : 2014-05-19

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Ambush and Opportunity

Post by Granicus Gaugamela on Wed Jan 27, 2016 12:09 am

These were questions asked of me by 2 28mm players.

In 15mm we had flank marches everywhere....

Granicus Gaugamela
VBU 4
VBU 4

Posts : 438
Reputation : 11
Join date : 2014-05-19

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Ambush and Opportunity

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top


 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum