Latest topics
» Dragons de Vaires 2017
Today at 10:46 am by nikko

» Basic Impetus 2 Comp, January 2018?
Yesterday at 10:28 am by RogerC

» Why can Longbows Fire at Point Blank Range & Not Others?
Fri Dec 15, 2017 6:10 pm by Gaius Cassius

» "Long Spear" if not in a large unit
Wed Dec 13, 2017 3:35 pm by Eques

» What are the main Changes between Impetus & Baroque?
Wed Dec 13, 2017 3:29 pm by Zippee

» Looking for Players in the Midlands (UK)
Wed Dec 13, 2017 2:53 pm by Eques

» Improving Pilum?
Tue Dec 12, 2017 5:03 am by Tarty

» Help in making a errata/FAQ
Mon Dec 11, 2017 9:07 pm by prapor

» What are the Benefits of being in a Group?
Fri Dec 08, 2017 4:25 pm by Tankred

Basic Impetus 2 Comp, January 2018?

Mon Oct 30, 2017 10:03 am by Aurelius

Would anyone be interested in a 28mm Basic Impetus 2 tournament, Saturday …

Comments: 17

Vapnartak York Feb 2018- format options?

Wed Oct 18, 2017 8:26 am by Cyrus The Adequate

Hi everyone

I was pondering the options for the York competition and wondered …

Comments: 11

Impetus Competition Derby Worlds 2017

Sun Jul 02, 2017 4:42 pm by Cyrus The Adequate

There will be a 28mm Impetus Competition at Derby World Wargames on 7th …

Comments: 47

Impetus at Derby?

Thu Apr 27, 2017 9:29 am by Cyrus The Adequate

Anyone interested ? 7th & 8th October at a new venue - Bruntingthorpe …

Comments: 11

Wintercon '17 July 15-16th

Sat May 06, 2017 11:44 pm by Tarty

Canberra July 15th-16th

Basic Impetus 2
28mm
Game days are Saturday and Sunday


Comments: 0

BI2 tournament - 25 March 2017

Thu Jan 26, 2017 10:08 am by RogerC

Would anyone be interested in a 28mm Basic Impetus 2 tournament on 25 March …

Comments: 24

December 2017
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
    123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Calendar Calendar


Group Charge with flanks covered

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Group Charge with flanks covered

Post by Tankred on Fri May 06, 2016 10:14 am

During our last game I wondered if a group is allowed to charge if not every unit in the group will get in contact with an opponent.

In order to get an bonus for covered flanks it makes sense to move a unit, which cannot contact an enemy. For sure this can be a separate activation before the actual charge, but this feels not coherent and stylish.

So my question is:
Can a group charge an opponent with single elments in the group, which will not contact the enemy?
If yes, will the unit without base contact to the enemy be disordered?
avatar
Tankred
VBU 2
VBU 2

Posts : 92
Reputation : 3
Join date : 2014-05-19

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Group Charge with flanks covered

Post by AncientWarrior on Fri May 06, 2016 10:33 am

Hello Tankred,

Your question made me reach for the spiral-bound rules sitting on the bureau to my right.

Deferring to those with more experience and knowledge of course, I would refer you to the diagram on page 40, under section 7.7 - Contact between non-parallel lines.

At the risk of being corrected as well as chastised, I would answer yes, a group can charge and have units of the group not contact the enemy. I do not believe the charging unit not making contact will be disordered. Unless they attempt a charge move and fail, then yes.

Hope this helps. Stand by for answers from more experienced players.

Cheers,
Chris

AncientWarrior
VBU 2
VBU 2

Posts : 75
Reputation : 3
Join date : 2014-06-09
Age : 52
Location : USA - Midwest region

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Group Charge with flanks covered

Post by Tankred on Fri May 06, 2016 12:16 pm

Just looking in my PDF version of the impetus rules since the wire-bound rules are at home Very Happy

In this example the left unit could contact an enemy. I wanted to know if I may include it in the charge without the possiblity of a contact.

Since there is a workaround for this this is more a question of taste and feeling.
avatar
Tankred
VBU 2
VBU 2

Posts : 92
Reputation : 3
Join date : 2014-05-19

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Group Charge with flanks covered

Post by Gaius Cassius on Fri May 06, 2016 3:25 pm

I would say yes to both questions. Can charge and will end up disordered.
avatar
Gaius Cassius
VBU 7 h.c.
VBU 7 h.c.

Posts : 781
Reputation : 15
Join date : 2014-05-20
Location : Guelph, Ontario, Canada

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Group Charge with flanks covered

Post by Zippee on Fri May 06, 2016 4:53 pm

I would say a partial yes - I think the group can charge, no doubt in my mind about that.

However I think the non-contacting units are only disordered if normal movement is exceeded, ie if the charge bonus dice were used.
avatar
Zippee
VBU 5
VBU 5

Posts : 559
Reputation : 9
Join date : 2014-05-19
Age : 54
Location : London, UK

View user profile https://www.flickr.com/photos/zippee/sets/

Back to top Go down

Re: Group Charge with flanks covered

Post by SteveI42 on Fri May 06, 2016 6:19 pm

Zippee wrote:I would say a partial yes - I think the group can charge, no doubt in my mind about that.

However I think the non-contacting units are only disordered if normal movement is exceeded, ie if the charge bonus dice were used.
This is how I've always played it.
7.7.1 allows single units within a group to use the cgarge bonus as described by 5.8.1
5.8.1 states that a unit that uses the charge bonus but doesn't contact the enemy immediately becomes disordered

SteveI42
VBU 2
VBU 2

Posts : 54
Reputation : 0
Join date : 2014-08-04

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Group Charge with flanks covered

Post by Gaius Cassius on Fri May 06, 2016 7:15 pm

So there you go! You learn something everyday (almost!) on the Forum. In looking over the 7.7.1 an 5.8.1 I think Zippee and Steve are correct about the disorder effect.
avatar
Gaius Cassius
VBU 7 h.c.
VBU 7 h.c.

Posts : 781
Reputation : 15
Join date : 2014-05-20
Location : Guelph, Ontario, Canada

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Group Charge with flanks covered

Post by Tankred on Mon May 09, 2016 9:40 am

That helped guys! Thanks a lot.
avatar
Tankred
VBU 2
VBU 2

Posts : 92
Reputation : 3
Join date : 2014-05-19

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Group Charge with flanks covered

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum