Latest topics
» find Notes of Schermagliatori
Wed Jun 21, 2017 11:07 am by reneseeder

» Will the Army list be changed by Impetus 2
Tue Jun 20, 2017 11:14 am by dadiepiombo

» Opportunity Charge clarification
Tue Jun 20, 2017 11:11 am by dadiepiombo

» Different base size
Tue Jun 20, 2017 11:07 am by dadiepiombo

» Help in making a errata/FAQ
Tue Jun 20, 2017 11:05 am by dadiepiombo

» Main unit and Support unit in second combat
Tue Jun 20, 2017 11:02 am by dadiepiombo

» Toughening Up CP
Thu Jun 15, 2017 10:46 pm by Cyrus The Adequate

» An Ancient Campaign using Sabin's Empire as a basis and Basic Impetus (augmented) to fight the battles
Thu Jun 15, 2017 5:53 pm by 1ngram

» Averaging cohesion tests
Thu Jun 15, 2017 1:05 pm by Cyrus The Adequate

Impetus at Derby?

Thu Apr 27, 2017 9:29 am by Cyrus The Adequate

Anyone interested ? 7th & 8th October at a new venue - Bruntingthorpe …

Comments: 10

Wintercon '17 July 15-16th

Sat May 06, 2017 11:44 pm by Tarty

Canberra July 15th-16th

Basic Impetus 2
28mm
Game days are Saturday and Sunday


Comments: 0

BI2 tournament - 25 March 2017

Thu Jan 26, 2017 10:08 am by RogerC

Would anyone be interested in a 28mm Basic Impetus 2 tournament on 25 March …

Comments: 24

28mm Impetus Competition York Sunday 5th February 2017

Mon Oct 03, 2016 8:44 am by Cyrus The Adequate

The traditional start to the Impetus Competition calendar in the UK is York in …

Comments: 80

1° BASIC IMPETUS tournament

Sat Dec 17, 2016 11:19 am by PAPERO

in Castegnato , near Brescia, Sunday, 08.01.2017 Cool

1st tournament BASIC …

Comments: 3

Cancon '17 Canberra, Aus

Mon Nov 07, 2016 2:15 am by Tarty

Cancon '17
Canberra, ACT

28mm  400pts
Friday 27th and Saturday 28th of …

Comments: 0

June 2017
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
   1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Calendar Calendar


Group Charge with flanks covered

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Group Charge with flanks covered

Post by Tankred on Fri May 06, 2016 10:14 am

During our last game I wondered if a group is allowed to charge if not every unit in the group will get in contact with an opponent.

In order to get an bonus for covered flanks it makes sense to move a unit, which cannot contact an enemy. For sure this can be a separate activation before the actual charge, but this feels not coherent and stylish.

So my question is:
Can a group charge an opponent with single elments in the group, which will not contact the enemy?
If yes, will the unit without base contact to the enemy be disordered?
avatar
Tankred
VBU 2
VBU 2

Posts : 83
Reputation : 3
Join date : 2014-05-19

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Group Charge with flanks covered

Post by AncientWarrior on Fri May 06, 2016 10:33 am

Hello Tankred,

Your question made me reach for the spiral-bound rules sitting on the bureau to my right.

Deferring to those with more experience and knowledge of course, I would refer you to the diagram on page 40, under section 7.7 - Contact between non-parallel lines.

At the risk of being corrected as well as chastised, I would answer yes, a group can charge and have units of the group not contact the enemy. I do not believe the charging unit not making contact will be disordered. Unless they attempt a charge move and fail, then yes.

Hope this helps. Stand by for answers from more experienced players.

Cheers,
Chris

AncientWarrior
VBU 2
VBU 2

Posts : 75
Reputation : 3
Join date : 2014-06-09
Age : 52
Location : USA - Midwest region

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Group Charge with flanks covered

Post by Tankred on Fri May 06, 2016 12:16 pm

Just looking in my PDF version of the impetus rules since the wire-bound rules are at home Very Happy

In this example the left unit could contact an enemy. I wanted to know if I may include it in the charge without the possiblity of a contact.

Since there is a workaround for this this is more a question of taste and feeling.
avatar
Tankred
VBU 2
VBU 2

Posts : 83
Reputation : 3
Join date : 2014-05-19

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Group Charge with flanks covered

Post by Gaius Cassius on Fri May 06, 2016 3:25 pm

I would say yes to both questions. Can charge and will end up disordered.
avatar
Gaius Cassius
VBU 7 h.c.
VBU 7 h.c.

Posts : 760
Reputation : 12
Join date : 2014-05-20
Location : Guelph, Ontario, Canada

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Group Charge with flanks covered

Post by Zippee on Fri May 06, 2016 4:53 pm

I would say a partial yes - I think the group can charge, no doubt in my mind about that.

However I think the non-contacting units are only disordered if normal movement is exceeded, ie if the charge bonus dice were used.
avatar
Zippee
VBU 5
VBU 5

Posts : 539
Reputation : 6
Join date : 2014-05-19
Age : 54
Location : London, UK

View user profile https://www.flickr.com/photos/zippee/sets/

Back to top Go down

Re: Group Charge with flanks covered

Post by SteveI42 on Fri May 06, 2016 6:19 pm

Zippee wrote:I would say a partial yes - I think the group can charge, no doubt in my mind about that.

However I think the non-contacting units are only disordered if normal movement is exceeded, ie if the charge bonus dice were used.
This is how I've always played it.
7.7.1 allows single units within a group to use the cgarge bonus as described by 5.8.1
5.8.1 states that a unit that uses the charge bonus but doesn't contact the enemy immediately becomes disordered

SteveI42
VBU 2
VBU 2

Posts : 54
Reputation : 0
Join date : 2014-08-04

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Group Charge with flanks covered

Post by Gaius Cassius on Fri May 06, 2016 7:15 pm

So there you go! You learn something everyday (almost!) on the Forum. In looking over the 7.7.1 an 5.8.1 I think Zippee and Steve are correct about the disorder effect.
avatar
Gaius Cassius
VBU 7 h.c.
VBU 7 h.c.

Posts : 760
Reputation : 12
Join date : 2014-05-20
Location : Guelph, Ontario, Canada

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Group Charge with flanks covered

Post by Tankred on Mon May 09, 2016 9:40 am

That helped guys! Thanks a lot.
avatar
Tankred
VBU 2
VBU 2

Posts : 83
Reputation : 3
Join date : 2014-05-19

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Group Charge with flanks covered

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum