Latest topics
» Why can Longbows Fire at Point Blank Range & Not Others?
Yesterday at 5:49 pm by Zippee

» "Long Spear" if not in a large unit
Yesterday at 3:35 pm by Eques

» What are the main Changes between Impetus & Baroque?
Yesterday at 3:29 pm by Zippee

» Looking for Players in the Midlands (UK)
Yesterday at 2:53 pm by Eques

» Improving Pilum?
Tue Dec 12, 2017 5:03 am by Tarty

» Help in making a errata/FAQ
Mon Dec 11, 2017 9:07 pm by prapor

» Dragons de Vaires 2017
Sun Dec 10, 2017 7:41 pm by Bobo

» What are the Benefits of being in a Group?
Fri Dec 08, 2017 4:25 pm by Tankred

» BI2-Samurai 'Big Battle'
Fri Dec 08, 2017 3:36 pm by Tankred

Vapnartak York Feb 2018- format options?

Wed Oct 18, 2017 8:26 am by Cyrus The Adequate

Hi everyone

I was pondering the options for the York competition and wondered …

Comments: 11

Basic Impetus 2 Comp, January 2018?

Mon Oct 30, 2017 10:03 am by Aurelius

Would anyone be interested in a 28mm Basic Impetus 2 tournament, Saturday …

Comments: 15

Impetus Competition Derby Worlds 2017

Sun Jul 02, 2017 4:42 pm by Cyrus The Adequate

There will be a 28mm Impetus Competition at Derby World Wargames on 7th …

Comments: 47

Impetus at Derby?

Thu Apr 27, 2017 9:29 am by Cyrus The Adequate

Anyone interested ? 7th & 8th October at a new venue - Bruntingthorpe …

Comments: 11

Wintercon '17 July 15-16th

Sat May 06, 2017 11:44 pm by Tarty

Canberra July 15th-16th

Basic Impetus 2
28mm
Game days are Saturday and Sunday


Comments: 0

BI2 tournament - 25 March 2017

Thu Jan 26, 2017 10:08 am by RogerC

Would anyone be interested in a 28mm Basic Impetus 2 tournament on 25 March …

Comments: 24

December 2017
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
    123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Calendar Calendar


Clarification on fortifications

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Clarification on fortifications

Post by Geoffrm on Thu Oct 06, 2016 5:45 am

Hi,
If a unit of T are behind a fortification is the range taken from the unit or the fortification?
Also if the unit is attacked is the attacking unit considered to be in base contact with the defending unit or the fortification?
I tend to think that they are in contact with the defending unit and not the fortification and that the shooting range is taken from and to that unit.

Geoff

Geoffrm
VBU 2
VBU 2

Posts : 51
Reputation : 0
Join date : 2014-09-20

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Clarification on fortifications

Post by jeztodd on Tue Oct 11, 2016 12:21 pm

Personally I would measure from the unit firing as you do. For attacking I would also stick with the unit as the attacker has to be able to get across the fortification to get into contact.

I don't really play with fortifications though ........

Here is another question - can you place a fortification in ambush using the normal ambush rules but then reveal the fortification at the start before players work out deployment. Allows you to place a fortification in advance of the deployment zone if you have got major control of the battlefield and decided to be the defender placing terrain.

Sure there would be examples of fortifications on the edges of woods being used - plashed woods for example.

Chewers Jez
avatar
jeztodd
VBU 3
VBU 3

Posts : 196
Reputation : 3
Join date : 2014-05-19

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Clarification on fortifications

Post by stecal on Tue Oct 11, 2016 3:14 pm

we have always measured from the fortifications

stecal
VBU 3
VBU 3

Posts : 159
Reputation : 0
Join date : 2015-02-06
Location : Philadelphia, PA USA

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Clarification on fortifications

Post by Gaius Cassius on Tue Oct 11, 2016 5:32 pm

It is interesting the rules don`t give specific instructions on something this basic. I had hesitated to respond because I can`t remember exactly how we do it and wanted to ask my gaming partners (I have no list with fortifications but have assaulted them enough times.) If my memory is correct we measure to the unit as well.

As an aside, I would say no to fortifications being included in ambushes. The rules always refer to units when marking for ambushes. Still, an interesting idea.
avatar
Gaius Cassius
VBU 7 h.c.
VBU 7 h.c.

Posts : 780
Reputation : 15
Join date : 2014-05-20
Location : Guelph, Ontario, Canada

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Clarification on fortifications

Post by Cyrus The Adequate on Tue Oct 11, 2016 8:39 pm

Fortifications can be used as ambushes but it is totally counter productive as an ambush as you always place fortifications when you deploy your camp.

"Hey Brutus - look over there - the Carthaginians have built a wall on the edge of that wood - don't suppose there's anyone there do you?"

On the other hand it is useful if you want to anchor a flank on a wood - the rules allow forward deployment as above so there is no reason why you cant forward deploy behind fortifications

avatar
Cyrus The Adequate
VBU 5
VBU 5

Posts : 549
Reputation : 0
Join date : 2014-05-27

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Clarification on fortifications

Post by jeztodd on Wed Oct 12, 2016 4:23 pm

Hi Cyrus (Ken)

I thought the way you used the fortifications in the recent competitions game at Derby seemed historical and appropriate - especially to suit the Hussite army.

As you use these regularly do you measure shooting from the fortification or from the unit base? I have my Landsknechte army and know they have the option for fortifications as well.

Cheers Jez

avatar
jeztodd
VBU 3
VBU 3

Posts : 196
Reputation : 3
Join date : 2014-05-19

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Clarification on fortifications

Post by Gaius Cassius on Thu Oct 13, 2016 3:31 am

If you read through the section on Ambushes in AI it always mentions "units" being deployed in ambushes. Are we to understand that fortifications are units? If so, I wish the rules would explicitly state this.
avatar
Gaius Cassius
VBU 7 h.c.
VBU 7 h.c.

Posts : 780
Reputation : 15
Join date : 2014-05-20
Location : Guelph, Ontario, Canada

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Clarification on fortifications

Post by Aurelius on Thu Oct 13, 2016 1:38 pm

I've always assumed that all measurements, for melee contact and shooting range, are taken from the front edge of the fortification. It seems neater and more practicle that way. I thought I'd read a clarification somewhere to that effect, but cannot find it now, might have been another rule set altogether.

TD


Aurelius
VBU 3
VBU 3

Posts : 171
Reputation : 0
Join date : 2014-05-19

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Clarification on fortifications

Post by dadiepiombo on Thu Oct 13, 2016 7:36 pm

measurements are taken from fortifications. Now, if players agree in a different way in a friendly way (and in advance) it is ok. This may depend on how the fortification is made as model.

As for fortification and ambushes you can place a fortification in a terrain were you could make an ambush but the deployment is not hidden. A Fortification is not a Unit.
avatar
dadiepiombo
Admin
Admin

Posts : 883
Reputation : 33
Join date : 2014-05-15

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Clarification on fortifications

Post by Gaius Cassius on Thu Oct 13, 2016 10:15 pm

Thanks Lorenzo. I think it would be a good idea to include this information in Advance Impetus as in neither case is it obvious from reading the rules.
avatar
Gaius Cassius
VBU 7 h.c.
VBU 7 h.c.

Posts : 780
Reputation : 15
Join date : 2014-05-20
Location : Guelph, Ontario, Canada

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Clarification on fortifications

Post by Tarty on Fri Oct 14, 2016 3:27 am

With regard to measuring think we've always measured unit to unit....as Lorenzo says so long as there's consistency doesn't really matter.
avatar
Tarty
VBU 7 h.c.
VBU 7 h.c.

Posts : 533
Reputation : 9
Join date : 2014-05-19
Location : SYDNEY

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Clarification on fortifications

Post by Geoffrm on Sat Oct 15, 2016 10:10 am

Thanks for that, The only problem I can see with measuring to the fortification rather than the unit is that if a group of units in line charge another group of units in line but one of them is behind a fortification you could spend a long time deciding who is in contact. I'll stick with measuring unit to unit.

Geoff


Geoffrm
VBU 2
VBU 2

Posts : 51
Reputation : 0
Join date : 2014-09-20

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Clarification on fortifications

Post by Gaius Cassius on Mon Oct 17, 2016 2:34 pm

We talked it over last night and we have decided to measure to the unit. I think your observation Geoff is illustrative to why it works better to measure to the unit.
avatar
Gaius Cassius
VBU 7 h.c.
VBU 7 h.c.

Posts : 780
Reputation : 15
Join date : 2014-05-20
Location : Guelph, Ontario, Canada

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Clarification on fortifications

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum