Latest topics
» Vapnartak. Sunday 4th February 2018 Knavesmere Stand York Racecourse
Yesterday at 7:46 am by Brighouse

» Impetus videos
Sun Jan 14, 2018 3:26 pm by Taffekles

» Basic Impetus 2 Comp, January 2018?
Fri Jan 12, 2018 1:21 pm by Taffekles

» Lords&Sevants 2nd edition
Wed Jan 10, 2018 4:01 pm by dadiepiombo

» Ace in the Hole: Aggressive deployment
Tue Jan 09, 2018 3:26 am by Zennor

» Measuring sticks
Mon Jan 08, 2018 5:48 pm by dadiepiombo

» Various weapons - are we doing it right?
Thu Jan 04, 2018 10:21 am by dadiepiombo

» Anglo Dutch list released
Wed Jan 03, 2018 12:52 pm by AndyT

» Scots Covenanters
Wed Jan 03, 2018 4:55 am by paulbgau

Vapnartak. Sunday 4th February 2018 Knavesmere Stand York Racecourse

Thu Jan 04, 2018 7:54 am by Cyrus The Adequate

Hi Gents

York is the usual first event in the UK Impetus calendar. This year …

Comments: 9

Basic Impetus 2 Comp, January 2018?

Mon Oct 30, 2017 10:03 am by Aurelius

I've brought the confirmed details for the Basic Impetus competition to the …

Comments: 32

Vapnartak York Feb 2018- format options?

Wed Oct 18, 2017 8:26 am by Cyrus The Adequate

Hi everyone

I was pondering the options for the York competition and wondered …

Comments: 11

Impetus Competition Derby Worlds 2017

Sun Jul 02, 2017 4:42 pm by Cyrus The Adequate

There will be a 28mm Impetus Competition at Derby World Wargames on 7th …

Comments: 47

Impetus at Derby?

Thu Apr 27, 2017 9:29 am by Cyrus The Adequate

Anyone interested ? 7th & 8th October at a new venue - Bruntingthorpe …

Comments: 11

Wintercon '17 July 15-16th

Sat May 06, 2017 11:44 pm by Tarty

Canberra July 15th-16th

Basic Impetus 2
28mm
Game days are Saturday and Sunday


Comments: 0

January 2018
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031    

Calendar Calendar


Flank Attacks

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Flank Attacks

Post by Zippee on Wed Nov 23, 2016 5:54 pm

Just a quick one,

When surviving a flank attack can the unit turn in place to face the attacker front-edge to front-edge or s it locked into a flank/side combat?

Pretty sure it's locked until it pursues when it can pivot as part of the pursuit - bit harsh if it fails to pursue though as it suddenly can't reorientate itself.
avatar
Zippee
VBU 5
VBU 5

Posts : 568
Reputation : 12
Join date : 2014-05-19
Age : 54
Location : London, UK

View user profile https://www.flickr.com/photos/zippee/sets/

Back to top Go down

Re: Flank Attacks

Post by Granicus Gaugamela on Thu Nov 24, 2016 3:23 am

Assuming the "flanked" unit really ripped one out and won the melee then the "flanking" unit retreats in accordance with 7.6.2:

"A Unit that loses a melee retreats, without changing its facing, by a distance in U rolled on a d6 if Mounted or half that number (rounded up) if Infantry."

So they go straight back.

The winning unit can then pursue according to 7.6.4 which includes:

" The Pursuit move is performed completely and straight forward or, if the player controlling the pursuing Unit should decide, in the direction that the enemy is fleeing in. To perform a Pursuit move, trace an imaginary line that joins the middle of the front of the two Units involved. The pursuing Unit moves into a position that is perpendicular to this line thanks to a free pivot around the middle of the Units’ front, after which it moves the number of U rolled on a d6."

So the "flanked" unit gets to do a major reorganisation (and bear in mind that it will be well over 90 degrees given the conditions for a flank attack in Impetus) to be perpendicular to the mid point connector line and then pursue.

The only debate I have encountered about this is whether the midpoint connector line is taken before or after the losing unit has retreated, convention seems to be before.

Granicus Gaugamela
VBU 4
VBU 4

Posts : 442
Reputation : 11
Join date : 2014-05-19

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Flank Attacks

Post by Granicus Gaugamela on Thu Nov 24, 2016 3:34 am

Perhaps another question that may be relevant - what happens in the event of beating off a rear attack?

There may well be insufficient space for the unit to pivot 180 degrees without contacting the losing unit to its rear (eg a rear attack that loses and then rolls a 1 on its retreat distance).

Just for the sheer hell of it I'd say anyone who survives and ultimately beats of an attack such as that gets to reorganise to face the defeated unit. They just overcame the most disadvantageous position possible and have effectively turned the tables on their enemy who thought they had an absolute win on their hands....

Granicus Gaugamela
VBU 4
VBU 4

Posts : 442
Reputation : 11
Join date : 2014-05-19

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Flank Attacks

Post by Granicus Gaugamela on Thu Nov 24, 2016 3:41 am

Alternatively if you're asking what happens in the event of a "stick" where neither side must retreat (which would cause the "flanked" unit to rout) then they just sit there. They held off the incoming charge and they get to do it again next melee activation, the formerly charging unit mo longer getting any impetus bonus that may otherwise be available as they haven't moved.

Granicus Gaugamela
VBU 4
VBU 4

Posts : 442
Reputation : 11
Join date : 2014-05-19

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Flank Attacks

Post by Zippee on Thu Nov 24, 2016 7:55 am

HI GG, yes it was about a flank attack that stuck - it looks odd having the units sat like that.

To be honest the same question applies to side attacks and as you say rear attacks.

So thinking (danger!) further on it, units sit in the current configuration until someone retreats or is removed. This is the same regardless of how marginal or odd the contact is.

However once the melee is won, pursuit is an option and this allows a preliminary pivot to line up on the retreating enemy. I'm perfectly happy that this is a mechanic not an actual footprint traced manoeuvre. A unit can pivot 180 to the rear on the spot, it doesn't interpenetrate anything in the process, same with turning to the side or flank.

However is this pivot absolutely part of the pursuit move or is it something that a surviving unit can do regardless of its desire (or ability) to pursue. My foot caught in the flank by horse, probably don't want to pursue but they really, really would like to pivot.

The Rules wrote:The pursuing Unit moves into a position that is perpendicular to this line thanks to a free pivot around the middle of the Unit's front, after which it moves the number of BU determined by the roll on a d6 according to the table above.

This could be read to indicate that the roll is made after the pivot.

So can any unit that wins a flank/side/rear combat pivot or only ones that successfully pursue?
avatar
Zippee
VBU 5
VBU 5

Posts : 568
Reputation : 12
Join date : 2014-05-19
Age : 54
Location : London, UK

View user profile https://www.flickr.com/photos/zippee/sets/

Back to top Go down

Re: Flank Attacks

Post by Gaius Cassius on Thu Nov 24, 2016 6:53 pm

Since the pivot is conditional upon the unit pursuing we have always played it that the unit must be able to pursue in order to pivot. A foot unit flanked by CM for instance could not pivot because it cannot pursue should it happen to win the melee.

To your first question I agree with GG that they are stuck in. But at least the flanking unit doesn't get the extra 2 dice for flanking on subsequent rounds of melee.
avatar
Gaius Cassius
VBU 7 h.c.
VBU 7 h.c.

Posts : 788
Reputation : 15
Join date : 2014-05-20
Location : Guelph, Ontario, Canada

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Flank Attacks

Post by Zippee on Thu Nov 24, 2016 11:28 pm

This is embarrassing but I could have sworn I posted this on the Baroque forum - this isn't an Impetus question it's a Baroque one.

Only the reference to CM has made be realise, so I apologise for that grievous error.

I'll post again on the right forum !
avatar
Zippee
VBU 5
VBU 5

Posts : 568
Reputation : 12
Join date : 2014-05-19
Age : 54
Location : London, UK

View user profile https://www.flickr.com/photos/zippee/sets/

Back to top Go down

Re: Flank Attacks

Post by Granicus Gaugamela on Fri Nov 25, 2016 1:32 am

Gaius Cassius wrote:
To your first question I agree with GG that they are stuck in. But at least the flanking unit doesn't get the extra 2 dice for flanking on subsequent rounds of melee.

A key distinction often missed. The bonus is for charging into the flank, not simply for attacking it.

As another question do you play that on a second or subsequent round of combat a flanked unit is not autorouted?

The wording states "If the Unit fought against an enemy Unit that contacted it on its flank or rear and fails the Cohesion Test then it is Routed.", the argument could be made that the unit was not CONTACTED rather they were already IN CONTACT.

I've only ever played it as being an autorout but could see an argument being made for the other case.

Granicus Gaugamela
VBU 4
VBU 4

Posts : 442
Reputation : 11
Join date : 2014-05-19

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Flank Attacks

Post by Gaius Cassius on Fri Nov 25, 2016 4:27 am

We play it that the unit is autorouted in subsequent turns where it is flanked. I believe that Lorenzo has stated that this is so.

I remember having a Swiss pike block with an attached leader fighting two CP units of the Knights of St. John (7/4), one frontal and one flank. Each round of melee was a real stress test. With CT of 6 +1 +1 -1 as long as the Swiss didn't roll a 6 I felt good. But one bad CT and the game was over. This melee went on for several turns but thankfully (for me!) on this occasion the Swiss prevailed. The front CP was defeated and support finally came up and put pressure on the flanking unit. But it has gone the other way too! Makes for a lot of good drama!
avatar
Gaius Cassius
VBU 7 h.c.
VBU 7 h.c.

Posts : 788
Reputation : 15
Join date : 2014-05-20
Location : Guelph, Ontario, Canada

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Flank Attacks

Post by Tarty on Sun Nov 27, 2016 12:19 am

Gaius Cassius wrote:We play it that the unit is autorouted in subsequent turns where it is flanked. I believe that Lorenzo has stated that this is so.
I'll second that....on the old forum if I recall.
avatar
Tarty
VBU 7 h.c.
VBU 7 h.c.

Posts : 533
Reputation : 9
Join date : 2014-05-19
Location : SYDNEY

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Flank Attacks

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum