Latest topics
» find Notes of Schermagliatori
Wed Jun 21, 2017 11:07 am by reneseeder

» Will the Army list be changed by Impetus 2
Tue Jun 20, 2017 11:14 am by dadiepiombo

» Opportunity Charge clarification
Tue Jun 20, 2017 11:11 am by dadiepiombo

» Different base size
Tue Jun 20, 2017 11:07 am by dadiepiombo

» Help in making a errata/FAQ
Tue Jun 20, 2017 11:05 am by dadiepiombo

» Main unit and Support unit in second combat
Tue Jun 20, 2017 11:02 am by dadiepiombo

» Toughening Up CP
Thu Jun 15, 2017 10:46 pm by Cyrus The Adequate

» An Ancient Campaign using Sabin's Empire as a basis and Basic Impetus (augmented) to fight the battles
Thu Jun 15, 2017 5:53 pm by 1ngram

» Averaging cohesion tests
Thu Jun 15, 2017 1:05 pm by Cyrus The Adequate

Impetus at Derby?

Thu Apr 27, 2017 9:29 am by Cyrus The Adequate

Anyone interested ? 7th & 8th October at a new venue - Bruntingthorpe …

Comments: 10

Wintercon '17 July 15-16th

Sat May 06, 2017 11:44 pm by Tarty

Canberra July 15th-16th

Basic Impetus 2
28mm
Game days are Saturday and Sunday


Comments: 0

BI2 tournament - 25 March 2017

Thu Jan 26, 2017 10:08 am by RogerC

Would anyone be interested in a 28mm Basic Impetus 2 tournament on 25 March …

Comments: 24

28mm Impetus Competition York Sunday 5th February 2017

Mon Oct 03, 2016 8:44 am by Cyrus The Adequate

The traditional start to the Impetus Competition calendar in the UK is York in …

Comments: 80

1° BASIC IMPETUS tournament

Sat Dec 17, 2016 11:19 am by PAPERO

in Castegnato , near Brescia, Sunday, 08.01.2017 Cool

1st tournament BASIC …

Comments: 3

Cancon '17 Canberra, Aus

Mon Nov 07, 2016 2:15 am by Tarty

Cancon '17
Canberra, ACT

28mm  400pts
Friday 27th and Saturday 28th of …

Comments: 0

June 2017
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
   1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Calendar Calendar


Pilum & PBW

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Pilum & PBW

Post by prapor on Sun Jan 15, 2017 3:28 pm

Didn't find that only FRESH can use Pilum & PBW like in full Impetus. Is it correct that now they fire with wounds?

prapor
VBU 2
VBU 2

Posts : 10
Reputation : 0
Join date : 2015-06-13

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Pilum & PBW

Post by Zippee on Mon Jan 16, 2017 12:48 pm

As written you can use Pilum and PBW even when worn in BI2.

No idea what that may mean for Impetus II. We haven't had an AI for this year so hard to compare.
avatar
Zippee
VBU 5
VBU 5

Posts : 539
Reputation : 6
Join date : 2014-05-19
Age : 54
Location : London, UK

View user profile https://www.flickr.com/photos/zippee/sets/

Back to top Go down

Re: Pilum & PBW

Post by Aurelius on Mon Jan 16, 2017 6:06 pm

Not played BI2 yet, so no expert. The key phrase appears to be "During the first melee phase with enemy..." (6.5). So yes, no mention of needing to be fresh, but it is only a single shot.

Aurelius
VBU 3
VBU 3

Posts : 154
Reputation : 0
Join date : 2014-05-19

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Pilum & PBW

Post by Zippee on Mon Jan 16, 2017 9:07 pm

Yeah the question there though is does that mean "the first melee phase of the game" or "the first melee phase of this melee"

I think the latter you imply you think the former, so there's bound to be dispute. . .
avatar
Zippee
VBU 5
VBU 5

Posts : 539
Reputation : 6
Join date : 2014-05-19
Age : 54
Location : London, UK

View user profile https://www.flickr.com/photos/zippee/sets/

Back to top Go down

Re: Pilum & PBW

Post by dadiepiombo on Thu Jan 19, 2017 11:05 am

only one bound and once you enter in melee for the first time.
So for example a legionary Unit that took a loss during a firing phase can still throw pila once enters in melee for the first time. First phase of melee.
avatar
dadiepiombo
Admin
Admin

Posts : 846
Reputation : 33
Join date : 2014-05-15

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Pilum & PBW

Post by grenadiergrandson on Fri Jan 20, 2017 8:39 pm

A very timely post - first game with Rep Romans coming up this week! So just to be absolutely clear, on the first phase of every melee no matter what the strength of the unit they get to roll 4 or 2 dice as appropriate? That would be nice if its right Smile Also it would make sense for deep units of Hastati and Principes to have more than one shot.

Cheers

grenadiergrandson
VBU 2
VBU 2

Posts : 61
Reputation : 0
Join date : 2014-05-22

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Pilum & PBW

Post by jeztodd on Sun Jan 22, 2017 7:36 pm

Hi Mark, Jez here - I remember we met at lots of competitions but famously never got drawn against each other!!

Personally I take Lorenzo's post to read you can only use the pilum and PBW once in a game?

Can I ask is Basic Impetus 2 going down well in South Wales?

Cheers Jez





avatar
jeztodd
VBU 3
VBU 3

Posts : 164
Reputation : 3
Join date : 2014-05-19

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Pilum & PBW

Post by Scruff on Mon Jan 23, 2017 8:06 am

woah, just scrolled back to re read Lorenzo's post and how he worded it I agree with Jez, its only a 1 time, 1st combat throw.... He keeps emphasizing "First"

only one bound and once you enter in melee for the first time. So for example a legionary Unit that took a loss during a firing phase can still throw pila once enters in melee for the first time. First phase of melee. wrote:

Scruff
VBU 2
VBU 2

Posts : 20
Reputation : 0
Join date : 2016-01-01

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Pilum & PBW

Post by Zippee on Mon Jan 23, 2017 1:37 pm

I can certainly see that this seems the likely interpretation, although it's still a tad cryptic. Cool

A nice simple Yes/No answer to:
"Can a unit only use pilum/PBW once per game?"
would be nice.

Personally I don't like that mechanic if it's so - javelinmen don't run out of javelins and they carry no more javelins than legionaries do pila. And I dislike the special case memory thing.

It would make more sense to allow the use in the same situation as impetus is allowed - ie if moving into contact and fresh.
avatar
Zippee
VBU 5
VBU 5

Posts : 539
Reputation : 6
Join date : 2014-05-19
Age : 54
Location : London, UK

View user profile https://www.flickr.com/photos/zippee/sets/

Back to top Go down

Re: Pilum & PBW

Post by dadiepiombo on Mon Jan 23, 2017 6:06 pm

"A nice simple Yes/No answer to:
"Can a unit only use pilum/PBW once per game?"
would be nice."

Yes (once per game)

"javelinmen don't run out of javelins and they carry no more javelins than legionaries do pila. "

Javelinmen rely on a different tactic and they are usually a VBU 4 Unit. Legionaries have VBU 6 and are basically a melee troop (the best among foot).
In Impetus they risked to loose the pilum before being use, so I see an improvement here.

avatar
dadiepiombo
Admin
Admin

Posts : 846
Reputation : 33
Join date : 2014-05-15

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Pilum & PBW

Post by Zippee on Tue Jan 24, 2017 11:56 am

Thanks for the clarity Lorenzo
avatar
Zippee
VBU 5
VBU 5

Posts : 539
Reputation : 6
Join date : 2014-05-19
Age : 54
Location : London, UK

View user profile https://www.flickr.com/photos/zippee/sets/

Back to top Go down

Re: Pilum & PBW

Post by grenadiergrandson on Thu Jan 26, 2017 11:10 am

Thanks Lorenzo, I think Legionaries not losing the pila after taking one loss is a definite improvement.

Hi Jez we may have chance to finally cross swords in march, if you're interested I think Roger Calderbank is organising a BI2 tournament just outside Bristol and I'll be putting my name down. I'll be having a look at what he's posted next and get ready to dust some old figures off!! Cheers

grenadiergrandson
VBU 2
VBU 2

Posts : 61
Reputation : 0
Join date : 2014-05-22

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Pilum & PBW

Post by Incendiary Pig on Sat Apr 15, 2017 7:02 am

One more question on this subject: Do you count as having fired your pilum / pbw if you are just fighting as a support unit for first time?

Incendiary Pig
VBU 2
VBU 2

Posts : 20
Reputation : 0
Join date : 2015-03-09

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Pilum & PBW

Post by Zippee on Sat Apr 15, 2017 8:39 am

As you're using the pilum/PBW bonus then I think that's your lot. I appreciate you roll less dice but they're still used up.
avatar
Zippee
VBU 5
VBU 5

Posts : 539
Reputation : 6
Join date : 2014-05-19
Age : 54
Location : London, UK

View user profile https://www.flickr.com/photos/zippee/sets/

Back to top Go down

Re: Pilum & PBW

Post by dadiepiombo on Sat Apr 15, 2017 2:00 pm

yes, you must roll for pilum at first contact, so you have lost the pilum after it
avatar
dadiepiombo
Admin
Admin

Posts : 846
Reputation : 33
Join date : 2014-05-15

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Pilum & PBW

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top


 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum